Seasons

12 Sep
Autumn’s chill has arrived. 
It came suddenly. 
Last week, Summer’s humidity still hung heavily in the air, but this week brought change.
The sun is setting earlier bringing cooler temperatures with nightfall.
An extra blanket on the bed. A sweater instead of sandals. Mums blooming. Leaves falling.

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1

As Summer fades into Fall, I think of the seasons of my life and how things have changed.

My first Summer as a wife is behind me. It passed quickly with the busyness of ministry. 

While the last several Autumns found me longing for marriage, this one finds learning what it means to be the wife my sweet hubby deserves and soon learning what it means to be a good Mama to my baby girl.

The season of singleness that seemed to last forever while in the midst of it is over.

And I now look back on it as a season of preparation.

Preparation for marriage, ministry and motherhood.

I didn’t know that when those things came, they’d come nearly all at once, but He did.

He knew the exact moment when He would transition me from one season to the next, and He knew what I would need to be ready for the change it would bring.

The years of singleness felt long when in the thick of them, but I now see how each one molded and shaped who I am today.

When school started last week, I wasn’t in the classroom for the first time in eight years, but rather preparing a room for a our precious daughter.

I believe those years of lesson planning and paper grading taught me valuable lessons for this new season of life.

The time I was able to spend with my grandparents in that season taught much, as well.

I’ve always been drawn to those older and wiser than myself. It’s always been easier for me to build relationships with them rather than those my age.

I now see how that has helped me to establish friendships with the seniors in our church giving me a place of ministry in their lives.

He knew that I’d be where I am today, and lovingly gave me years of training that I might be ready for it.

He’s placed me in this season and will enable me to flourish in it if I’ll only seek Him.

Yes it’s full of change, full of lessons to learn, but it’s also full of blessings I am so thankful for!

Leave a Reply

