My Abba Father

20 Apr

For fifteen years You’ve been my Abba Father,

 and just as a father does You have loved me unconditionally, faithfully, boundlessly.

 You loved when I accepted You,

only nine years old but so aware of my sinful state.

 You loved when I neglected You,

putting other things first.

You loved when I rejected You,

wanting to go my own way.

You loved when those I chose to put before You

left me with a broken heart.

You loved when I returned realizing Your love was exactly what I was searching for.

You loved as I fell in love with You all over again nine years after we met for the first time,

 as I soaked up Scripture,

 found satisfaction in You not only as Savior but as friend,

 learned what it truly meant to have a personal daily walk that went farther than Sunday morning.

You loved as I waited for Your direction,

 savoring singleness and finally finding contentment in You.

You loved as You gave me precious time with those so precious to me,

 allowing me to spend countless, priceless hours with them as You prepared me for Your plan.

You loved as You introduced me to a handsome preacher boy on that chilly Sunday morning.

I couldn’t believe he was single and that six short months later he wanted me to be his girl.

 You loved as You worked it all out for your glory,

 opening doors and making ways that only You could.

You loved as You blessed our wedding day,

everything was perfect.

You loved as You led us one hundred and fifty miles from home,

 giving us a ministry,

 a task to complete,

 a plenteous Harvest to labor in.

You loved as You knit a little life within me just four weeks into our marriage,

 giving us the desire of our hearts,

 and preparing the best birthday present ever for me this year.

Regardless of my response to You, You’ve loved me without limits and Lord, I have no doubt that You’ll continue to do so.

Though the future is uncertain I’m certain that You will be who You’ve always been, do what You’ve always done.

Your promises are true. Your Word steadfast. My future secure because You are my Abba Father.

“For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption,whereby we cry, Abba, Father.”

Romans 8:15

Fifteen years ago tonight, I knelt at an old fashioned altar and finally surrendered to the conviction that had been calling me to Him. I can’t imagine life without my Abba Father.

One Response to “My Abba Father”

  1. Tara April 21, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Happy Spiritual Birthday….Wow where has the time gone ? I remembering watching and crying as that 9 year old girl walk down to the altar and excepted Jesus as her Abba Father…Love ya always!
    Ma

Leave a Reply

