Home

1 Mar

For twenty four years and two months, home was a gray rancher in a town with a population of 4,000. No sidewalks or streetlights just fields and moonlight when evening came.

Today and for the last sixty days or so home has been a sage green two story in a city with 25,000 residents! Sidewalks, streetlights, traffic, hustle, bustle, etc. etc.

Leaving that sleepy little town, if it can even be considered one, and everyone that made home home, has been more difficult than I ever expected.

Image DetailOver the last few weeks, I have truly felt the reality of homesickness weighing heavy on my heart. Tears flowing as I think of everyone and everything I’m missing back “home,” I’ve struggled to feel at home here one hundred and fifty miles from everything familiar.

The homesickness has made me miserable and given me an attitude that is far from pleasing to my Lord or pleasant for my sweet hubby to be around or deal with.

This week though my Lord has been speaking to my heart, questioning me as to where “home” truly is.

We’ve all heard the old adage, “Home is where the heart is.” And I believe it to be true, but what does it mean when your heart is in two different places?

Here in New Jersey with my wonderful husband and new ministry with such potential for growth and accomplishment for Jesus.

There in Maryland/Pennsylvania where our parents, grandparents, siblings, cousins, school and church family are living their lives as they always have three hours away.

Well, Scripture says that where your treasure is there will your heart be also.” Matthew 6:21

I truly treasure this new season in my life as I learn how to be a wife and am now carrying this precious little one, but I also treasure the relationships back in Maryland and familiarity of the place that was home for so long.

But where does Jesus say, my treasure should be?

In a place? In people?

The preceding verses are clear.

“Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:ย But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven..” (vs.19-20)

My treasure should ultimately be in my personal relationship with Jesus that is the same regardless of whether or not my street address has a New Jersey zip code.

Everything we have here is temporary, we are “strangers and pilgrims” (1 Peter 2:10) on earth where our hearts know loneliness ย and sadness. Our true home is in Heaven for eternity where He has promised to wipe away tears from off all faces” (Isaiah 25:8) and where we will never again have to say painful goodbyes!

So I am learning to lay up heavenly treasure as I am settling into the fact that this is now my earthly home and trying to do my best to make it just that for my servant-hearted husband and our sweet little peanut who is busy growing at the moment! ๐Ÿ™‚

All the while looking forward to the day when I hear my Savior’s voice welcome me to my Heavenly Home and to the wonders of spending eternity with Him!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Baby is making this Mama very tired and very nauseous but also very excited!!!! Seven weeks and counting!!! I hope to start posting weekly “bump” pictures this week! Please keep praying for our little one’s growth and development!

5 Responses to “Home”

  1. Tara March 2, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I miss you really bad Sara but I want you to know that I am praying for you and Daniel and my sweet little grandpeanut that you can all touch lives there in New Jersey for the glory of God as you have done here in Maryland….3 hours is not that bad!
    Love,
    Ma……Mema,Gram, MeMe, Nana to be????

  2. Briana March 8, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Hey Sara!
    You’re being missed here as well!!! Its hard not being able to see you guys but I’m very blessed to have a cousin and cousin-in-law =) who are following the Lord’s will! We’ll be checking in to see how the pregnancy is coming along! So excited for you guys! You’ll be great parents!
    Love you guys!
    Briana โค

  3. Amanda March 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Sara,

    When Tony and I got married we moved to Connecticut, which was 1000 miles from “home” for me (not to mention it was a much colder!! and much different part of the country from what I was used to). Though it was a challenge, I look back on it now as a time for us to fully rely on the Lord and each other without any other choice (i.e. we had no parents, siblings, or even friends initially to lean on). I think it strengthened our faith and our marriage. I pray the same for you and Daniel, but know that your feelings are so normal! I hope you keep feeling great!

    Amanda

  4. STacey March 10, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Hi Sara, Im stacey over from Kellyskorner blog. I saw your link and I just wanted to say hi from a fellow New Jersey girl! I grew up in Monmouth County a small town called Ocean Grove and now live for the past years since I married in Atlantic County South Jersey~~ Where are you guys ministring>? Im on Staff at our church Shorefellowship.net Just wanted to drop by and say hi, My blog is aspenbergfam.blogspot.com

    • lovingmylord March 14, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Hi Stacey! We are in North Jersey, Caldwell, Essex County not too far from NYC. I am from a little country town in Maryland so this city living is new to me! My husband is on staff at First Baptist Church of Caldwell. Thank you for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

