Quiet

31 Jan

The voices of once struggling readers succeeding.

Skip counting by two and five and ten, and after a lot of practice six, seven and eight.

Requests for ring pops because “they were really good today.” 🙂

Even during my planning hour, the chatter of third graders on their bathroom break outside my classroom door.

As a teacher, my days were anything but quiet.

Now,

I notice the stillness.

the quiet.

As I sweep the floors and fold the laundry, the house is silent.

Yet in the silence, I hear Him. He’s urging my heart to follow suit.

Child,

“Be still and know that I am God.”  Psalm 46:1

Know that I’ve brought you here for a wonderful purpose.

Know that I’m taking care of all the things back home that continue to occupy your thinking.

“Be still…”

and savor this precious beginning with the husband you’ve waited for.

take in every moment and give  your all.

“Be still…”

and learn what it means to rely fully on Me to be your help in 

the newness of marriage and ministry.

Quiet is another new that I’m adjusting to, but one that I am so very thankful for. Though I miss the days I spent in my classroom and the children whose chatter brought such joy then, I am grateful that I am now student rather than teacher.

I have a new classroom, and He’s teaching me so much.

But to do so, He needs my heart to be quiet, undisturbed, at rest.

And being the amazing Teacher that He is, He makes sure that my learning environment is always perfect.

“…in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength…”

Isaiah 30:15

3 Responses to “Quiet”

  1. Lynda Love Clark February 1, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    Beautiful Sara – go happy that everything is working in your new role and your new life.

  2. aunt el February 1, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Wow! that’s good! 🙂

  3. Carla C. February 9, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    That’s awesome!!!! Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

