Marriage, Moving, and Ministry

16 Oct

I’ve been wanting to type this post for two weeks. I’ve been writing in my mind for days, but now that I can share our news with you I am struggling to put it into words.

You are very familiar with the first “m” being close to my heart. Marriage has been the topic of many a post over the last four months. It has consumed my thoughts. It has long been what I believe I was created to do. To be a wife and, if the Lord wills one day, a mom. On Saturday, December seventeenth the Lord will give me the precious privilege of becoming Daniel’s wife, and I’ll get to spend the rest of my days learning what it means to be a help meet to my husband.

The next “m” is one I knew would come with marriage. Moving. It’s only natural that a husband and wife have a space to call their own. A place to call home and establish their own traditions. I’ve had seven and a half amazing years at home since my graduation in 2004. Time to build and establish deeper relationships with my parents, grandparents, and other sweet family members. Time to prepare and learn skills that will hopefully help as we set up housekeeping in two short months.

The final “m”  has always been my prayer for my future husband. I prayed that he would have a desire for ministry. And that my future husband, does! In fact, he gave up dreams of a successful law career, surrendering to whatever the Lord would have for him in a life of full-time ministry. He has spent the last ten years doing just that. Working hard to pay his way through Bible College, teaching and coaching at a Christian School, and most recently assisting in the new church plant where the Lord allowed our paths to cross almost three years ago. He is a servant. He puts his heart and soul into the service of His Lord and the people he’s called to serve! Lately though, he has been spending much of his time working an outside job seventy hours a week that he might provide the finances needed for our future together all the while his heart breaking.

All of this brings me to the news I’ve been longing to share with you. Since Daniel surrendered to the call to preach long before we met, he has longed to pastor full-time. From the early stages of our relationship, we have discussed our mutual desire to serve the Lord in a full-time capacity. We have always known that we desired to raise our family in the ministry.

And the Lord has been working in amazing ways to bring those desires to pass in our lives. He knew three years ago when my family walked into a little store front church. He knew two and half years ago when we went on our first date. He knew four months ago, when my handsome husband to be pulled the beautiful diamond ring I now wear from his pocket. He knew when we didn’t.

He knew that He would open a door for us in a town just thirty minutes from New York City. In a church that is blessed with a wonderful pastor and pastor’s wife that we will be teaming with to serve a very culturally diverse congregation. He knew, and we are so grateful and so honored to walk through the door He has opened, to accept the call to the First Baptist Church of Caldwell, New Jersey. We are unworthy vessels and just pray that He will empty us of us and use us for His glory.

So not only will the next two months bring marriage, but it will also bring moving and finding our place in a new city, a new church and new ministry!

When we visited our new church home a few Sundays ago, Daniel preached a message from Galatians chapter six, challenging the congregation to use the opportunities the Lord gives us every day to share the life-changing message of the Gospel with those we come into contact with.

And when we look at this new portion of our journey, we look at it as an amazing opportunity!

“As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men,

especially unto them who are of the household of faith”

Galatians 6:10

Please pray for us as we prepare. How we long to be faithful to His Call and fruitful in our service!

5 Responses to “Marriage, Moving, and Ministry”

  1. Katie October 16, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Wow, Sara, that’s amazing! I’ll be praying for you!! How far is that from where you are right now?

  2. lovingmylord October 17, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Aww! Thanks girl! It’s about three hours away. So not too bad. My Momma is thankful it’s not Africa! We are thrilled and can’t wait to get there! I can’t believe we’ll be there in a little over two months!

  3. godisalwaysontime October 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Since you both are in God’s will, I know God is going to pour out His blessing upon you. We will be praying for you each day. God Bless. Rogerlee and Mary

  4. Donna Blackburn December 10, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Sara,
    So happy for you. We ran into Megan a few months back at Good’s, and I couldn’t believe she was married. Then she told us you were getting married. I feel so old. So glad that Megan mentioned your blog in a Facebook post. I also have a blog that I enjoy writing. You do have a way with words. Anyway, congratulations on what awaits you in your new life. I will be waiting for each new blog. Enjoy your wedding day, and your life thereafter. I know God will abundantly bless you both.

    Donna Blackburn

    • lovingmylord December 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks so much, Donna! What a blessing to see your comment here! I will never forget hearing you sing “I Can’t Wait to See Jesus” when we would come to Harmony for revivals, etc. That seems like so long ago! I’m so glad you stopped by, and I pray that the Lord will use my writing for His glory!

Leave a Reply

