Ten Years Later…

11 Sep

I was thirteen years old. A freshman in high school.

Sitting in Government class surrounded by other ninth graders, beginning our daily warm-up activity of watching C-SPAN and completing the questions on the worksheets in front of us when normal programming was interrupted.

Smoke. Flames. Two towers crumbling before our eyes.

The world as we had always known it would never be the same.

The sound of the third period bell broke the silence and only added to the confusion.

After settling into Spanish, our principal announced that we would be dismissed early.

As my bus pulled out of the school parking lot, I admit that I wondered if maybe it was the rapture, if my family was safe.

Arriving home, every channel on T.V. told of the terror that not only struck in New York City, but also in Pennsylvania and at the Pentagon.

In the weeks to come, words like terrorism and Ground Zero entered daily conversation though they had never been heard before that September day.

In my Art 1 class, we were assigned to creating remembrance collages from news clippings and internet sources. They hung in the lobby for months and my freshman yearbook was lined with reminders of that fateful Tuesday.

School officials created safety plans, and we participated in drills should another attack occur.

Experiencing the tragedy of September 11, 2001 changed my worldview forever and made me realize how fragile life is.

Ten years later, it’s still etched in my memory, and I am sure that it always will be. I know that I will never forget.

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

2 Chronicles 7:14

Leave a Reply

