The Dress

23 Aug

I’ve dreamed about it for as long as I can remember.

Tulle.

 Lace.

Ball gown.

Satin.

 A-line.

Beading.

With a train.

Or without.

 There were so many options. All I knew was that I wanted it to be beautiful. That I wanted to be beautiful.

The consultant gathered several and hung them up for me.

I knew the moment that I slipped it on and walked out of the dressing room to examine it more closely.

I couldn’t take it off. I’d never worn anything like it.

My hair was in a pony tail, but it didn’t even matter.

Even after pouring through magazines and searching the Internet, this one was different.

I tried on several more just to make sure that it was indeed the one.

It was.

Everyday, when I see the bag in which it hangs, I know I am one day closer to wearing the precious garment inside. One day closer to seeing the look on my groom’s face when I walk down the aisle on my Daddy’s arm.

The thought of it brings such excitement to my heart! As does the reality of this verse that has consumed my thinking over the last week,

“I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for He hath clothed me with the garments of salvation,

He hath covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decketh himself with ornaments, and as a a bride adorneth herself with her jewels.”

Isaiah 61:10

As I took great care in picking the dress that I will say “I do” in, my Lord has gone to great lengths to provide a robe of righteousness for me.

So unworthy and certainly unable to pay for the attire that I now call mine, it was purchased for me when my Savior gave His lifeblood upon Calvary’s Hill and is offered “without money and without price.” (Isaiah 55:1)

Once clothed in“filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6), I am now covered with the “garments of salvation!” (Isaiah 61:10)

What a priceless gift I have been given!

Sins stains are no longer visible, beacause He has so lovingly “cleans(ed) (me) from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)

And because I am now adorned in this heavenly apparel, I am fit for entrance into a City with golden streets, pearly gates, and jasper walls!

Wow! The thought of this amazes me!

Clothed. Covered. And so deeply loved by my Lord!

This is certainly cause for “great rejoicing!”(Isaiah 61:10)

Purchasing the dress of my dreams thrilled my heart beyond words, but knowing that I am dressed spiritually for all eternity is enough to take my breath away! 

3 Responses to “The Dress”

  1. Chelsea August 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Stopping by from Women Living Well Wednesdays

    So encouraging to hear a young bride with such a Godly perspective. Blessings to you and your fiance as you draw nearer to the big day! Enjoy this time of planning…really savor it. I love the verse at the top of your page…that was the benediction at our wedding:)

  2. Pamela August 24, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Sweet post. I know God is pleased with your clothes of righteousness as your groom will be with your bridal clothes.

  3. angie August 25, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    loved reading your post where your happiness is very evident. I rejoice with you in your decision to dress righteous for this is pleasing to our God

Leave a Reply

