Hello August! :)

31 Jul

I’m so glad you’re here!

I don’t know about you, friends, but Summer 2011 is flying by!

I can’t believe that it’s August, the eighth month of this year!

8-1-11!

That means we are four and half months away from 12-17-11!

Other than through tweeting, I’ve been keeping my wedding talk sparse here, wanting to make His Word the ultimate priority! I’ve been praying that the posts from my time in Scripture each morning have helped to strengthen and encourage your hearts as well! Words cannot describe the difference consistent time with my Jesus every morning makes in my day!

But tonight I am overwhelmed with where my Loving Lord has led me! Overwhelmed by the fact that in 139 days, I will be Mrs. Daniel Hodge!

Over the past two months of wedding planning so far, His hand has been so evident. He is blessing in the tiniest of ways!

The perfect weather on the day of our engagement photo shoot despite the forecast.

Falling in love with the very first dress I tried on, only to be told it was discontinued when the consultant called to order it from the warehouse. Then being able to purchase the floor sample at nearly 50% off the original price! 🙂

Being graciously allowed to use the two churches we wanted for the ceremony and reception during the busy Christmas season!

Bridesmaid’s dresses that fit all of my bridesmaids perfectly. (And 3 of 5 have already arrived!)

Finding a flower girl dress for my favorite almost five-year old for only thirty dollars.

Daniel being given more hours at his 3rd shift full-time job along with the opportunity to work a 2nd job part-time and somehow still finding the time to sleep. (He is my hero! The hardest working man I know!)

Having many things checked off the long list of Wedding To-Do’s and having the time of ours lives doing so!

The last two months have flown by, but I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of every day.

Every morning when I wake up and see the sparkling diamond on my finger, I am reminded yet again of a man who loves me unconditionally and of a God that leads His children every step of a way and does so to give them the desires of their  hearts in the most amazing ways!

Tonight, before my handsome hubby-to-be preached a wonderful message at the church where I grew up, I sang this hymn, and the words have never meant more.

He leadeth me, O blessèd thought!
O words with heav’nly comfort fraught!
Whate’er I do, where’er I be
Still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me.

He leadeth me, He leadeth me,
By His own hand He leadeth me;
His faithful follower I would be,
For by His hand He leadeth me.

Sometimes mid scenes of deepest gloom,
Sometimes where Eden’s bowers bloom,
By waters still, over troubled sea,
Still ’tis His hand that leadeth me.

Lord, I would place my hand in Thine,
Nor ever murmur nor repine;
Content, whatever lot I see,
Since ’tis my God that leadeth me.

He has been so faithful. Six summers ago, my heart was broken, my plans shattered. I couldn’t understand why He was leading the way He was. Today, I stand so thankful, and see His reasons clearly!

His plan for my life has me in a place I never imagined I would be, but in a place I have always longed for!

Where are you this August, sweet friends?

Can you look back over 2011 thus far and see His leading?

I hope so!

Have a wonderful Monday!

“Delight thyself also in the LORD: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.”

Psalm 37:4

One Response to “Hello August! :)”

  1. Lynda Love Clark August 1, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    I love hearing about all your wedding plans and how GOD is present orchestrating all of it and you continuing to give him the glory. Your story-book love is an interesting read – and you are truly blessed – first by being the daughter of two of my favorite people. Your messages are a real blessing and always brings me to a place I know I need to be. Again thanks. GOD Bless

Leave a Reply

