Keeping a Right Heart

28 Jul

During my 30 for 30 time this morning, this familiar verse caught my eye,

“…for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.”

Matthew 12:34

It’s pretty straightforward.

It’s cut and dry. Plain and simple.

To have right words, I need to keep a right heart.

So with that being acknowledged how exactly do I maintain a heart that produces pleasant speech?

I think it comes down to making sure I am continually doing three things in my daily walk with the Lord.

Number One: By constantly confessing sin.

Number Two: By constantly communicating with my Lord through prayer. (there is a difference between this and #1)

Number Three: By constantly communing with Him through time spent in His Word.

Yep. Keeping a right heart is that simple, just as understanding the serious consequences of not doing so is. When I neglect to confess sin, communicate and commune with Him, I am putting myself at great risk. I can be sure that my words will soon reflect my heart.

But even though realizing the process to keeping a heart right before God is simple, doing so can be a tad trickier.

I don’t know about you, but I battle my sinful fleshly nature daily and it does everything it can to keep me from keeping the right heart my Lord longs for me to have. It takes diligent effort to ensure that these three things are being done continually.

As for Number One, confessing sin.

Psalm sixty-six verse eighteen is clear,

“If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me:”

If I want to keep my heart right, His ear must be open to my cries and it won’t be if I have sin in my heart.

This can prove challenging because we tend to rate sin, viewing certain sins as “more” sinful than others. However, we know that God views sin as sin. Regardless.

So we must be just as quick to fall repentant at His feet for things like a bad attitude or a complaining spirit as we are for the things we view as more serious sin.

Number One makes Number Two possible.

We already know from Psalm 66:18, that failing to confess hinders our communication with Him, but once we’ve confessed we have the privilege of continual fellowship! We have the blessed opportunity to speak with our Heavenly Father whenever we desire to do so!

Oh that we would pray more!

I’ve long kept this quote on a slip of paper in my Bible,

Prayer is not a way of making use of God;

prayer is a way of offering ourselves to God in order that He should be able to make use of us.

William Barclay

We are of best use when we have a right heart

and we keep a right heart

by constant communicating with our Lord!

And finally, Number Three. The last way to keep a right heart is to constantly commune with Christ by staying in our Bibles! The 30 for 30 Challenge has proved a great way to help me establish this in my life! 🙂

Another familiar verse confirms the great need for us to use His Word as a tool in keeping right hearts!

“Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.”

Psalm 119:11

It’s A LOT easier to keep my heart right and thus my words right, when I begin the day with Jesus!

Confessing. Communicating. Communing.

Three ways to walk with our Lord that our words might reflect the wonderful work He’s done within us!

Three ways that seem simple but take His Spirit working within us mightily to accomplish!

Praying He helps you to keep a right heart, this weekend, friends!

Enjoy the final weekend of July 2011!

One Response to “Keeping a Right Heart”

  1. SJBeals August 17, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Loved this! Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂
    Sarah Beals

Leave a Reply

