Is it Sunday?

25 Jul

Her blond curls were frizzy from a night of restful sleep, but she looked cuter than ever in her pajamas.

Yawning sleepily, she curled up on the couch and posed a question,

“Is it Sunday?” the almost five year old asked in anticipation.

“No, baby girl, it’s Monday,” we answered.

“When will it be Sunday? How many more days?” she continued her inquiry.

“In six days, sweetheart,” we assured her that Sunday would come soon.

She woke up this morning with Sunday on her mind because she spent her day in church yesterday and wanted so badly go back today.ย Her heart was still excited about the Truth she learned and she was so anxious to return.

A little later, she gathered her papers from Sunday School and wanted me to read them to her again.

With great joy, she showed me how she had colored the pictures and placed stickers on the lesson page.

I wondered how often my heart is that excited about a day spent in His house, about the Truth learned there.

And I’ve pondered those thoughts all day today.

Her tenderness toward the things of the Lord is humbling, convicting and thrilling.

It thrills my heart that she loves the things of God at an early age yet it challenges me to love them in a greater way.

I pray that He would ever keep my heart soft like hers and that I would ever “be glad when they (say) unto me let us go into the house of the Lord.” (Psalm 122:1)

And I pray that she will keep her sensitive spirit and soon accept the Savior she loves to learn about in Sunday School.

“But Jesus called them unto him, and said, Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.”

Luke 18:16

Leave a Reply

