Liberty.

7 Jul

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

~ The Declaration of Independence 

July 4, 1776

Liberty.

Webster defines it as

1.freedom from arbitrary or despotic government or control.

2. freedom from external or foreign rule; independence. 

3.freedom from control, interference, obligation, restriction,

hampering conditions, etc.; power or right of doing,

 thinking,speaking, etc., according to choice.

How blessed we are to live in America! A country where we have the freedom from a government’s control. Even with It’s many flaws and the changes that have been made by lawmakers in recent years, the U.S.A. is a place unlike any other.

We truly are privileged to live in this sweet land of liberty!

We can worship in public each Sunday, hand a Gospel track to the cashier in the check out line, read our Bibles as we sip our morning coffee at the corner cafe. Unlike Christians who live in countries under harsh rulers with no tolerance for believers, we can live out our faith as we please.

We don’t have to meet underground in fear of persecution.

We don’t have to rely on bits of Scripture that we’ve memorized because we don’t have our own copy of God’s Word.

We don’t have to hide the joy that Jesus gives us.

Liberty is another right that I take for granted, but I am so glad I have the opportunity to call America home!

And in addition to the liberty we’ve been given as American’s, I’ve been thinking about the liberty we’ve been given as children of God.

Liberty for the believer is freedom from Satan’s control over our lives.

We no longer have to live controlled and restricted by his grasp upon our souls.

Jesus has “proclaimed liberty” to us that were once “captive!” He has broken the bars to the “prison” that once held us “bound” in our sin! (Isaiah 61:1)

We have been released from the grip that once held us so tightly and are now held securely in the palm of One that allows us to live in liberty!

The Lord longs that we would “stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith (He) hath made us free!” (Gal. 5:1) because He knows how easy it is for us to be entangled yet again “with the yoke of bondage.”

Satan delights when we revert to living once again in the bondage we’ve been freed from, but trembles when he sees us looking “into the perfect law of liberty, and continu(ing) therein, …being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work.” (James 1:25)

Paul describes this liberty as “glorious liberty!” while writing to the Romans. (8:21)

And oh, how glorious I’ve found it over the last six years. In Christ, there’s much liberty when we forgo our wants for His will, when we make constant and continual effort to know Him better!

Tonight, I am so grateful for my liberty as an American, but most of all for liberty enjoyed as a Christian!

*****************************************************************************************************************************

Since when is Thursday night Tuesday’s “tomorrow?”

When I’m blogging or rather not blogging like I said I would!

Life has been full! I am thoroughly enjoying my summer “job” as a wedding planner, especially considering it’s my wedding I’m planning! I am living my dream come true!

So…there’s my excuse for inconsistent blogging! 🙂 Only 163 more days til our wedding!

2 Responses to “Liberty.”

  1. Alexis July 7, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Amen!!

  2. Kara Wright July 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Hey! I just saw your note on my blog! So fun meeting other people who you have a lot in common with! I get a lot of my jean skirts on ebay. That’s where I can find them cheap and cute all at the same time. I go to some thrift stores as well but I do the best on ebay 🙂 I’m looking forward to following your blog!! Congrats on your upcoming wedding too 🙂

Leave a Reply

