Life.

5 Jul

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

~ The Declaration of Independence, July 4, 1776

Ever since reading these words on Sunday in anticipation of our Nation’s birthday yesterday, I haven’t been able to get them off my mind!

Life. I live it without thinking about it most of the time, but I’ve been thinking about it a lot today!

I’ve physically lived twenty-three and half years in a place where four-wheel drive Chevy trucks and tractors are common place. No sidewalks. No Wal*Mart. No street lights. Working in the garage with my Daddy. Catching lightning bugs on summer nights in my backyard. Learning to bid on antiques at auctions with my Mama. Snapping green beans on my grandmother’s porch as the sun sinks below the horizon. Life has been sweet in this little country town. And I am thankful for the privilege of growing up here!

But I have only truly lived for fourteen of my twenty-three years. That Sunday night in April I’ve mention so many times before will forever be etched in my memory and in my heart, as the day I “passed from death unto life!” (John 5:24) The things I’ve enjoyed in my life would mean nothing without the salvation He so lovingly gave me when I was nine years old!

Then there was that day at the end of this month nearly six years ago when He turned life as I had always planned it upside down! And oh how thankful I am that He did! I often think about how different my life could have been if He had allowed me to continue down the road I was walking, and I realize again how much He loves me! He loved me enough to rescue me from a future full of my plans in order to give me a future full of His richest blessings! A future that meant six years of seeing struggling learners succeed, six years of seeking to know Him and His precious Scripture, and six years of preparing to be a wife to the godly man I knew He would bring me in His time. I know I have grown more in the last six years of my life than in any other. And for them I am so very grateful!

The last six years bring me to where I am today, living a life that truly is “exceeding abundantly above all” (Eph. 3:20) that I could ever asked for and dreamed of! You’ve read hundreds of posts on how amazed I am that He has given me the desires of my heart in this way.

I pray that I will ever seek to make Christ my life and passion and learn to love Him in a greater way as I continue to live the life He’s so graciously given me!

But life is only life if we’ve be given “eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” (Romans 6:23)

Do you know Him today, dear friend?

Has He given you life “more abundantly?” (John 10:10)

I pray that He has and that you know the joy that knowing Him brings!

“For in Him we live, and move, and have our being…”

Acts 17:28

Tomorrow, I’ll take a look at Liberty! Another one of the “unalienable rights” we’ve been so graciously given!

Leave a Reply

