Growing Pains

30 Jun

I remember the countless night that I would stumble out of my dark bedroom where I was supposed to be sleeping with a look of anguish on my face.

“Momma, my legs hurt,” I would cry as my eyes tried to adjust to the light of the living room.

The clock read 11:32 and that was way past my bedtime but the pain in my legs was keeping me from resting.

“Momma… I whined as the ache worsened.

Of course my Momma knew exactly what was causing the problem.

The answer was simple, “You’re okay,” she said in consolation. “It’s just growing pains.”

After a dose of Children’s Motrin and hug, she’d send me back to bed with a hot water bottle.

Growing.

Why does it have to be so painful?

I’m finding that again the same can be true spiritually speaking.

As the old adage goes, “No pain. No gain.”

And often we gain MUCH spiritually when life is painful.

It’s in the painful times that we find we’ve grown the most.

Grown in our understanding of our God and of the ways in which He works.

Grown in our ability to trust Him with the pain knowing He has a grand purpose for it.

Grown in our realization that life is not all about being served, but rather all about serving.

But all of those lessons are indeed painful.

And it’s during those times that we stumble to our Savior with tear-filled eyes,

“Father, it hurts.” 

“Why does it have to be this way?” 

I’ve found myself there over and over again. Longing for a walk that was closer. Longing for a relationship that was deeper, but unsure that I wanted to pay the price it would cost to get it.

Growing closer to my Jesus often means giving up my plans. (so painful in the initial surrender but ALWAYS in return for a Plan much greater!)

Growing closer to my Jesus means putting the needs of others before my own. (which ALWAYS hurts my prideful and self-centered heart!)

Growing closer to my Jesus means getting up when I want to stay in bed so I can have time with Him before diving into the busyness of the day. (this is a most difficult task when the alarm sounds early after I’ve stayed up all hours of the night doing exactly what I’m doing at the moment)

Growing is painful but so profitable.

He assures us that the pain will be worth it,

“And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope.”

Romans 5:3-4

Growing pains are certainly not something we’ll look forward to as we begin this summer of growing to glorify God in a greater way, but they are certainly something that are so very necessary.

Just as I would have remained 4′ 6″ without those annoying pains in my legs each night, we would remain spiritually short if it weren’t for the spiritual pains we endure in this growing process.

The end result will be wonderful. I’m sure of it.

“But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.”

2 Peter 3:18

Hang in there, sweet friends and keep growing closer to “our Great God!” (Titus 2:13) Even when it hurts, remember that He has a finished product in the works and one that wouldn’t be quite the same without the pain of your present circumstance!

And when the pain seems too hard to bear, you can find comfort in this “precious promise” (2 Peter 1:4) from Revelation 21:4,

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.”

The pain is only temporary!

Keep growing!

One Response to “Growing Pains”

  1. Alexis July 1, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    How true!

    Our road oft leads on paths of pain,
    Thru days of drought, or rushing rains,
    But, yea, it gives the greatest gain:
    It leadeth us to Thee.

Leave a Reply

