Rain.

27 Jun

She plants the seed in late spring when it comes often.

But as the scorching summer sun appears, my Granny watches the forecast each day with great anticipation.

She needs it that the seed she spent much time and effort planting may grow.

And as the gray clouds release the heavy drops upon the parched soil, she thanks the Lord for it’s refreshing and the growth it will allow.

The tiny plants soak in the much-needed moisture, and she smiles in gratefulness.

Rain will cause her beans to grow, and she’ll can jar upon jar for the enjoyment of her family,

but when weeks pass without the precious precipitation, the lush green color dries to a brownish hue.

Rain is crucial to her garden’s success, and I’ve been thinking about the need for spiritual rain upon my parched soul if I desire to “grow up into Him in all things.” (Eph. 4:15)

“My doctrine shall drop as the rain, my speech shall distil as the dew, as the small rain upon the tender herb, and as the showers upon the grass:”

Deuteronomy 32:2

Our Lord longs to send the refreshing our hearts thirst for. He longs to use His Word to saturate our scorched souls.

As showers upon soil, as early morning dew upon dry and dusty ground, time in Scripture provides the rain we so desperately need to grow to a place of glorifying our Savior.

But there are so many times, in my life personally, that my sin keeps me from my Bible, stops the clouds from releasing the rain and thus stops the growth I so desire.

“When heaven is shut up, and there is no rain, because they have sinned against thee; if they pray toward this place, and confess thy name, and turn from their sin, when thou afflictest them:

 Then hear thou in heaven, and forgive the sin of thy servants, and of thy people Israel, that thou teach them the good way wherein they should walk, and give rain upon thy land, which thou hast given to thy people for an inheritance.”

1 Kings 8:35-36

Over and over again, we find the children of Israel’s sin keeping rain from falling and were challenged to confess them and seek changed hearts in order to receive it once again.

Oh, how I need Him to “teach (me) the good way wherein (I) should walk” that I might grow to be a flourishing and productive Christian.

Oh, how I need the Rain.

Oh, how I need the One who so lovingly sends it.

“For he saith…Be thou on the earth; likewise to the small rain, and to the great rain of his strength.”

Job 37:6

When I am weary, He’s promised to send it’s refreshing.

When I am yearning for the restoration it brings, He’s promised to pour water upon my thirsty soul.

But I must seek Him for it and spend the time in Scripture necessary to receive it.

“Thou, O God, didst send a plentiful rain, whereby thou didst confirm thine inheritance, when it was weary.”

Psalm 68:9

May we refuse to live dusty and dry. May we run to Jesus for the rain.

*********************************************************************************************************************

Last week, I blogged about my summer theme and a hope to begin blogging more consistently, and yet here I am, seven days later! This week will be a little less busy so I am aiming to post frequently! 🙂 Thanks for reading, friends!

Leave a Reply

