Milk.

21 Jun

I’ve never cared for it.

At breakfast, you’ll find me with a bowl full of dry cereal.

Though my classmates spent their lunch money on little cartons of it, I was content with my juice box.

And while others can’t imagine eating freshly baked cookies straight from the oven without a tall glass of the thick white liquid, I always pair mine with water.

But tonight, I am consumed with my need to drink more of it this summer.

More of the milk of the Word, that is.

“As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby..”

1 Peter 2:2

More that I might grow thereby.

I’ve always wondered if I’d be taller had I made milk a part of my daily diet, and tonight, I wonder how different I’d be if I made the milk of the precious pages of Scripture a greater part of my day-to-day living.

When we read of the Word being referred to as “milk,” it’s referring to the less difficult Christian truths. 

Oftentimes I miss the simple wisdom nestled within It’s pages.

Truths like,

“As for God, His way is perfect.” Psalm 18:30

or

“We love him, because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:19

or even,

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105

Truths that remind us of His perfectness, of His love and of the light available for us to walk in if we’ll only spend some time in Scripture each day.

The word “desire” literally means to long for, to pursue with love.

How I need to long for and pursue the life enriching nutrients of “the milk of the Word.” 

If I’m going to “grow up into Him” I must drink much this summer!

The wonderful thing about this “milk” is that there is a never-ending supply! Enough for all who would desire it, to drink to their heart’s content!

May we seek to drink that we may grow!

Leave a Reply

