Smiling

13 Jun

The weather was perfect. After much prayer for the Lord to hold back the rain that had been forecasted all week. I spent hours checking and rechecking weather.com, praying, hoping, really wanting a few hours to get the pictures I’ve been dreaming of taken. Now the sun was shining. The humidity that had lingered for much of the week had lifted.

The company was awesome. My Aunt who has always captured life’s greatest moments in film for me was behind the camera. Her sense of humor and willingness to walk wherever we wanted her to, even if it meant walking down alleys and across rusty sky bridges, was the perfect addition to a perfect day. My handsome husband to be was by my side as we galivanted through Lancaster City, and there’s no one else in this world I’d rather spend my Saturdays with (or any day of the week, for that matter!)! His attention to the details of the hundreds of photography blogs I’ve shown him over the last few months so that he would know exactly what poses I wanted is yet another reminder of how much he spoils me rotten!

The joy in my heart was almost uncontainable. A desire surrendered through tears and heartbreak six summers ago was now a desire fulfilled in an amazingly wonderful way. My Loving Lord had heard each and every whisper of my heart as I longed for life in the ministry with a man who loved Him (and me!) deeply, faithfully, unconditionally. He was

now holding my hand. He was now my fiance, smiling with a smile as big as mine as we made memories that will last a lifetime!

It felt like a dream. I had to keep reminding myself that it was real. That this is my life. That I really do get the privilege of spending the rest of my days with Daniel.

Though our cheeks were sore from smiling, we couldn’t seem to stop.

“This is our God, we have waited for Him.”

Isaiah 25:9

And what a wonderful purpose, He had for the waiting. We waited so that the weather would be perfect and the joy would be uncontainable. We waited so that we would know that it was all His doing, that it was His Hand that provided.

We waited so that we could have us.

A city boy. A country girl. A love for God and the people He’s so graciously called us to serve. A desire to spend a lifetime loving each other and loving Him.

He has truly done a “marvelous thing” (Psalm 78:12) in our hearts and in our lives. If words could only describe how thrilled we are with His Plan and how He has lovingly worked it out in our lives!

Yesterday will forever rank on my list of Best Days Ever. We will always cherish our Engagement Pictures and look back on this season as the beginning of a beautiful God-scripted love story!

You can view several of our pictures by clicking the link below.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/danielandsara2011/

Thanks again for sharing our joy!

2 Responses to “Smiling”

  1. Uncle Joe June 13, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    When I talked to Ellie Saturday evening,she told me what a good time she had taking the pictures. She said it was the most fun she had in a long time. I went to your wedding page and saw the ones you put there and they looked really good. How happy you two are could easily be seen in each picture. You always talk about how blessed you are to have Daniel and I believe that, but I also believe he is a very blessed man to have you by his side too.
    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. Lynda Love Clark June 13, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    WOW!!! Sara the pictures are terrific and you look absolutely beautiful – and with that handsome young man beside only compliments the already beautiful you!!!! thanks for sharing – I did enjoy and I so enjoy the message attached.

Leave a Reply

