Two

31 May

“Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour.”

Ecclesiastes 4:9

It was a Sunday in November, almost three years ago, when my family was seeking a new church home, that we walked into a little storefront church.

Our hearts were heavy, as we were following the Lord’s leading into a new season in our lives. Little did we know the things He had in store.

We enjoyed the service and felt very welcome there. Leading the congregational singing that morning was the godly young youth pastor, and I’d be lying if I said he didn’t catch my eye! I quickly dismissed those thoughts and asked the Lord to help me stay focused on Him as I sought His direction for my future. It had been two years since He grabbed my heart and turned my life and my plans upside down and I was determined that I was going to follow His direction from that point on.

In the weeks following, we visited again, and we learned more about the family that had planted the church there in the center of town.Natives of Michigan, they had surrendered their lives to full-time ministry and had been serving the Lord in the Pennsylvania area for a few years. I also began to learn more about the youth pastor as we found ourselves chatting after services. He was a Christian School teacher, like me, and we spent many minutes chatting about our students and various other things. I learned that he had given up a desire for a career in law, finally surrendering to God’s call upon his life and enrolling in Bible College.

The more we talked the thoughts of getting to know him better were quickly filling my mind.

Please take them! I asked the Lord in an attempt to refrain from allowing my heart to entertain my own plans too long.

As the 2008 turned into 2009, we continued to visit. After church on Sunday nights, that youth pastor and I began walking to a nearby park chatting about anything and everything. On a bench near a small pond, we enjoyed the warmer weather that April and May brought along as we got to know each other better.

I began to fight the desires and wants in my heart in a greater way. Begging the Lord to bring His will to pass and not to let me get in the way of the story He was scripting for me, I was relishing the times I got to spend with him.

Soon, I found an email in my inbox, but didn’t think too much of it. My Mama, on the other hand, commented that this would be the start of it all. I dismissed the comment, secretly hoping it would be!

A few Sunday nights later, we took another walk down to the park, and he questioned me about my plans for the week ahead. Could he be? I wondered but the night ended like the many nights prior. We said goodbye and my heart fought hard not to be disappointed!

Then on Memorial Day 2009, I got a text message! A message from him!!!! “Could I call you later?” he asked!

I tried to enjoy the events of the day, but my thoughts were consumed by the phone call that was coming my way in a few hours!

The call came, and we talked and talked ending the conversation with plans to go out on our first date the following Saturday, May 30, 2009.

With a sweet peace and uncontainable excitement, I knew that we were moving ahead with the Lord’s blessing.

Dinner and mini-golf, talking and more talking. May 30,2009 was a wonderful day. I was amazed at his wisdom, his heart for ministry, his love for the youth in his care. I was in awe of him, of his willingness to give up a career that he would have excelled in, making a salary much larger than the one he found himself making now. I didn’t know young men like him still existed much less any that were still single! 😉

That summer, we moved into a season of dating and spending more time together. He was confirming for us, daily, that He had His hand upon our relationship, and as we began to serve together at church, we found that we could accomplish much more together, with two, than we ever could independently.

By Christmas 2009, we knew that we wanted “US” to be forever and believed wholeheartedly that He had His hand upon the events leading up to that Sunday in November a year prior. The closed doors. The changed plans. The broken hearts. Were all His way of bringing us, us!

He continued to teach, working hard to pay down college debt, and serve in every way possible. I continued to teach and pray daily for patience. I was head over heels in love with him and couldn’t wait to be his wife!

Children’s church, visitation and youth activities were great ways to serve together as we awaited the future that God had waiting for us.

We celebrated one year together, and knew that we would have our day soon.

As Summer 2010 arrived, he began working a third-shift warehouse job. The time we spent together was limited as he would now have to sleep when I was awake. It was a hard change, but I was so grateful for his determination and for the sacrifice he was making for us.

Summer faded into Autumn, and the leaves quickly fell off the trees bringing Winter’s chill with it. He continued to work, hard. Exhausted from working all night, he would selflessly teach every morning.

A love I didn’t think could get any deeper, deepened as I watched him labor to get us where we needed to be financially to move forward with our relationship. My prayers resembled the prayers of May 2009, asking the Lord to help me to wait for His timing, to be patient as He lovingly prepared us for our future and our future for us.

Winter of 2010 finally released It’s icy grip and the warmer temperatures of Spring 2011 brought us to today, our second anniversary! Two years of learning, growing, trusting and loving. We are so grateful for His faithfulness along the way, and we had such a good time reminiscing about all of the things that led us here.

And on a park bench, much like the one we spent many Sunday nights chatting away on, our gracious God brought us to a new season in our lives today, as that godly young youth pastor, got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife!

It’s been a long journey, and if we would’ve had our way we would’ve been here many months ago, but He wanted us to wait so it would be sweeter. He taught us so much in the waiting. Lessons we wouldn’t trade for anything!

And, oh, dear friends, how sweet it is!

Through a combination of tears and laughter, I spoke the tiny word, I’ve been longing to say, as he slipped the ring on my finger,

“Yes, Love! I will!”  

It will be my dream come true! A lifelong wish fulfilled! To spend life by your side, serving our precious Jesus, the Giver of the wonderful gift of us, for the rest of our days!

He has done “exceeding abundantly above all” that we could have ever asked or thought! He has brought us to this day, two years later, and I am praising Him tonight for a desire granted, for the privilege of being loved by and loving Daniel, of getting to be in ministry with him!

Two are so much better than one! 🙂

As I type this post, my beautiful ring sparkling on my finger, he’s working hard tonight continuing to prepare for the day that will be here in six short months!

My loving Lord has blessed me beyond measure!

Happy Memorial Day, friends! Mine was happy, indeed! 🙂

“The Lord hath done GREAT things for us; whereof we are glad!”

Psalm 126:3

5 Responses to “Two”

  1. Uncle Joe May 31, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    I am so happy for you two. I know it was a long awaited moment, but God’s timing is always perfect. I believe you and Daniel are going to do great things together for our Lord.
    I also know you went through a lot of heartache to get to where you are now. Remember though, “when God saya no, there must be a greater yes”. No those many years ago has truly turned into a much greater yes today.
    I could go on and on but I will end with this you will understand. I agree with Sharpy’s comment.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. Lynda Love Clark May 31, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Sarah what a Cinderella/fairy tale romance so orchestrated by the hand of GOD. We received your Dad’s text message last evening and I could not wait to morning to read your updated blog for today. Your story is beautiful – just as you are inside and out. YOu take us all right there with your words. May GOD bless both of you, your engagement and your life together. Both you girls have made your parents proud, but that speaks volume for both of them. Congratulations!!!!

  3. Lynda Love Clark May 31, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    oops! almost forgot – the ring is beautiful also. GOD Bless.

  4. Jeri----CURVES June 1, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Sara, i am so happy for you and Daniel! He is getting a wonderful Christan Bride- i know that he will be so happy and thankful to God for you.I loved the story about you and Meagen.Daniel is joining a wonderful family!! LOL Jeri

  5. Alexis June 4, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Our computer’s been in the shop, so I’m just now getting to read this.

    I’m SO happy for you and Daniel! The Lord has used a beautiful road to bring you to a beautiful place. I know it’s been a long time coming, but sharing your life with your best friend is well worth the wait!!

Leave a Reply

