He’s Waiting.

11 May

Another day has passed, but everything’s the same.

I keep holding out hope, keep whispering his name.

I remember the time when he was at home, but

now he’s out there somewhere all alone.

I sit here by the window, watching for my child

How I long to embrace him, just to talk with him awhile…

Oh but wait I think I see him! He’s coming down the lane!


My son, how I’ve missed you! My love has never changed!

All of my best is yours to keep! Come, sit down, rest your weary feet!

Your days in that far country are finally through!

Oh my child welcome home! I’ve been waiting for you!

He said “I’m so unworthy. I’ve been gone too long! 

Only thinking of myself, living so wrong!

Wasting precious gifts you’ve given me!

I’ve sinned against Heaven and my family!”

“I’ve trampled your name, run it through the mud.

Oh, Father, I don’t deserve your sweet love!”

But as I wrap a robe around him place sandals on his feet, I whisper these words

as tears run down his cheeks,

All of my best is yours to keep! Come, sit down, rest your weary feet!

Your days in that far country are finally through!

Oh my child welcome home! I’ve been waiting for you!

Oh my child welcome home! I’ve been waiting for you!

His best. That’s what He’s waiting to give us though we wander so far and fail Him so desperately.

He longs to take us back and give us more than we’ve ever dreamed of and certainly more than we’ll ever deserve.

Nearly six years ago, when I came back from wandering my own paths, living out my own plans, He was there and oh, He’s given me so much!

He gave me the words to this song exactly one year after I returned, when the reality of His acceptance was so fresh in my heart.

I had fallen so far and yet He was waiting.

Arms wide open and heart rejoicing that His daughter was finally home from that far country where she had wasted so much.

Just as the prodigal’s father waited and lovingly, mercifully, welcomed his baby boy back home, Jesus was waiting for me.

And He’s waiting for you, sweet friend.

Waiting to hold you again.

To be your strength, to keep you from having to carry the load by yourself.

Waiting to wrap His robe around you.

To be your comfort, to keep you from having to try anything and everything to find peace.

Waiting to give you a seat at His table.

To feed you with the manna and meat of  Scripture.

For you see, we often view only the “really sinful” things as wandering. As something we need to return to our Father from.

But I believe, mostly because this is where I found myself, that we wander when we try to do things on our own, when we fail to seek a daily and deliberate relationship with Him. We wander when we go through the motions of Christian service yet remain empty and dry on the inside.

But no matter if we find ourselves wandering paths of complacency or paths of blatant and obvious sin, He’s waiting.

Arms open and ready to receive you home again!

“And the son said unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in thy sight, and am no more worthy to be called thy son. But the father said to his servants, Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet:And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry: For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry!”

Luke 15:21-24

Leave a Reply

