The Strength of Soft Words

5 May

I have a way with words, but not the kind of way I’d like to have.

I have found the old adage true,

 It’s always not what you say but how you say it.

It’s not necessarily the words I speak but the way in which I speak them that ends up causing problems and hurting those dearest to me. When voicing my opinion, it’s not that I intend to cause harm or inflict pain but if I’m not careful the tone I use can do just that.

I would rather write a letter than talk face to face any day. Writing is like breathing to me. Talking on the other hand has always been a struggle. I find it difficult to get my words out if I don’t have a keyboard in front of me or a pen in my hand so in an effort to get my point across when in a discussion or conversation I usually end up saying things in a way that I wish I hadn’t.  

Tonight, His Voice is clear reminding me of the necessity of being cautious when using the voice He’s given me or else being willing to pay the price when I neglect to be.

I love the practical advice and help found in the book of Proverbs. I love to read a Proverb a day since there are 31 Proverbs and 31 days in a typical month. Frequently, I hear the Lord speaking the loudest when studying and gleaning from the wisdom this small book in the middle of my Bible has to offer

In Proverbs, He uses verses like these to teach my tongue to use knowledge aright, (15:2)

“A soft answer turneth away wrath, but grevious words stir up anger.” 15:1

“A soft tongue breaketh the bone.” 25:15

Again, it’s not always what you say but how you say it. The same statement can be received two completely different ways depending on the tone in one’s voice.

We can often achieve the desired end by simply using soft words. The word soft has the idea of being tender. Chapter 15 verse 1 tells us that they “turn away wrath.” The words “turn away” meaning to make to withdraw indicate that we have the ability to change the entire course of a conversation by changing the way we say what we say. Chapter 25 verse 15 tell us that soft words “break the bone.” Using a tender tone can change the heart of the toughest opponent!

 The Bible does not say that as Christians we will never experience conflict or have a difference of opinion with another believer but it does say much on the topic of God-glorifying speech.

In other chapters in Proverbs, we are admonished to become people of few words. (I think the Lord knew how difficult it would be for us to keep our words soft! 🙂 )

 “A fool uttereth all his mind: but a wise man keepeth it in till afterwards.”

Proverbs 29:11 

” In the multitude of words there wanteth not sin: but he that refraineth his lips is wise.”

Proverbs 10:19 

Ideally, the best thing to do is to say nothing, but when we must say something we must seek Him to give us a way with words that blesses His heart and is edifying to our brothers and sisters!

   “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.”

 Ephesians 4:29

Oh, Lord teach me that there is strength in soft words!

Leave a Reply

