Illustrated Grace

18 Apr

God is quite the Artist. You can see it everywhere.

As the golden sun bursts forth each morning, scattering the darkness of night.

In the brilliant hues of blue covering the sky on a fresh spring day.

As the green grass grows quickly from the recent rains.

In the purples, pinks and reds of dusk.

But His artwork is also quite apparent in another place.

I see it more clearly today than ever before.

I see it in circumstances that used to confuse me. I see it in trials that I was once anything but thankful for.

I see it when I look at where He has me today though it’s not where I planned to be.

I see it in the current condition of my heart and in the fact that He is far from finished His working upon it.

I see it in the multitudes of precious promises that are today a reality in my life because of the discouragements He allowed.

And I most certainly see it when I look at where He brought me from! 🙂

“God’s grace is illustrated and magnified in the poverty and trials of believers. Saints bear up under every discouragement, believing that all things work together for their good, and that out of apparent evils a real blessing shall ultimately spring–that their God will either work a deliverance for them speedily or most assuredly support them in the trouble, as long as He is pleased to keep them in it.”

~ Charles Spurgeon

His artwork doesn’t always appear beautiful at first glance, but today I see Grace illustrated in ways I never imagined possible!

I see apparent evils that are real blessings. I see times when He has delivered me speedily and times when He has most assuredly supported me in the trouble He has kept me in!

He has painted a beautiful picture and has been doing so for fourteen years now!

It’s only taken me about that long to see it! 🙂

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

Romans 8:28

Leave a Reply

