Tears.

12 Apr

From the moment I took my first breath, they’ve always come easy for me.

Most of the time, they come all too easy. I cry over just about everything. I cry when I try really hard not to, times when I’m trying really hard to be strong.

I am not exaggerating when I say I’ve done my part to help keep Kleenex in business!

Tears.

They’ve soaked my pillow more times than I can count, and I’m sure the Lord has filled His bottle to the brim with mine alone!

Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?” (Psalm 56:8)

But tears can be a good thing. They show emotion in a way unlike anything else does. They convey a serious spirit when they accompany an earnest prayer. Scripture promises that those who “sow in tears shall reap in joy!” (Psalm 126:5)

We see Mary worshipping with them as she washed the feet of her soon to be crucified Lord. Paul tells us that he cried many tears because of his sincere love for the churches in his care.

But most often, tears come when we’re hurting, when our spirit’s ache with the pain of loss or of disappointment.

We read of Job’s tears when he lost it all and of David’s tears when his heart was heavy with the burden of sin.

I don’t know about you but I’m looking forward to the day when tears no longer fall.

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes…” (Revelation 21:4)

When God Himself will wipe them away for a final time. He has dried my tears through the comfort of His Word or the peace that His Spirit brings over and over again, but I am longing for the day when He will remove them once and for all.

And not only wipe them away, but also destroy everything that has ever caused them to well up in my eyes.

“and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away!”

There’s another shall! 🙂 There shall be NO MORE death, sorrow or pain,  no more of the any of the things that bring tears in the first place!

We’ll never again watch the wailing widow as she surrenders the one she’s loved for fifty years to his final resting place. We’ll never see our loved ones suffer the effects of cancer or heart failure. We’ll never hear of another couple who lost the baby they already loved so much before he ever left the safety of his Mama’s womb. We’ll never feel the crushing sorrow of another broken heart. And praise God, we’ll never battle this flesh again or feel the ache that sin leaves behind!

“For the former things are passed away!” and we’ll no longer have a need for tears!

But until then, I’ll find comfort in the fact that He has “seen (my) tears” (Isaiah 38:5) and is ever available to soothe the sorrow and heal the hurt!

Leave a Reply

