More faith that I might be faithful!

11 Apr

The word faith used in the famous Faith chapter (Hebrews 11) comes from the Greek word peitho meaning to convince.

Of course, there is the faith that brings salvation, but I’ve been thinking of faith in a different way. I do not waver in my certainty of my salvation or in His Supreme ability to keep me until the day He returns or takes me Home, but I do desire to have more faith.

I want to be more convinced of Him, of Who He is, of What He can do if I’ll only allow Him to work, of Who He desires to be to me if I’ll only allow Him to be.  Though I’ve sought to become a student of Scripture over the last 5 1/2 years, I’m still no where near the point of understanding it all, but I do desire to have a deeper faith in my Jesus.

I don’t want to settle for a mediocre walk, so I must seek a deepened faith in Him. I know He’s able to take care of the little things, but I want a faith that believes He can do the BIG things.

A faith like Abraham who went out not knowing whither He went in search of a Promised Land, a better country that he was convinced his Lord had prepared for him. A faith like Abraham who was convinced enough of the goodness of his God to offer up a son, his only son, a son with which he had finally been blessed with after countless years of waiting, trusting, and praying.

A faith like Sarah who though amused at first thought of an opened womb in her elderly years, believed God for a child. A faith to trust His perfect timing even when His working seems LONG overdue.

A faith like Moses to stand before Pharaoh, a  man who had the power to take his life, a man who was technically his grandfather by adoption yet from whom he had chosen to separate himself choosing the riches of Christ above the treasure’s found in his household.

A faith like Noah to faithfully hammer and saw despite the snickers and sneers of  mocking onlookers. A faith to trust that a never-seen-before rain would fall because His God had promised it would.

A faith like Joshua to circle Jericho over and over again because God had asked him to do so. One time. Two times. Three times. Four times. Five times. Six times. Seven times. Each time convinced that His God would come through.

A faith like David who faced a giant that no one else would as a youth who wasn’t even expected to fight in a normal battle much less in one against a nine foot opponent. Standing before the towering figure, he was convinced that the stone he held in his hand would do the job not because he knew his aim was perfect but because he came in the name of the Lord.

A faith like the great cloud of witnesses, the countless others listed in Hebrews eleven, who believed their God could and would do the impossible. People who saw Him do what very few others who have ever lived have seen Him do. A faith like those convinced to the deepest part of their souls that He desires to be more than just a Savior (though that would be beyond enough!) to those He has so graciously saved!

 Faith enough to believe Him for the BIG things. A faith that pleases Him and brings Him glory. A faith that’s deeper.

Faith to believe that I have tonight exactly what He desires me to have. Faith to be certain that if I’m lacking something it’s because He knows it’s best that I not have it right now. Faith in His perfect plan and work in my life.

More faith that I might be more faithful.

 “So then faith cometh by hearing: and hearing by the word of God.”

Romans 10:17

*a repost from the archives!

One Response to “More faith that I might be faithful!”

  1. Alexis April 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    In Hebrews 11, we’re reminded of some great things that God did in the lives of so many throughout Biblical history, but it isn’t those things that are brought to our attention.

    It is their faith.

    Faith is what paved the way for the miracle.

    Faith is always what paves the way for the miracle.

    Loved this post, Sara!! A faithful Christian must be a faithFULL Christian!!

Leave a Reply

