A Love That Won’t Stop

3 Apr

It’s every little girl’s dream.

From the moment she watches Cinderella a little spot in her heart is forever occupied.

Occupied with dreams of her Prince Charming and with hopes that he’ll come bearing a glass slipper which just happens to fit her perfectly.

Dreams of the day he’ll sweep her off her feet, literally and figuratively, and place her gently upon his steed.

Dreams of riding off into the sunset for a life of happily ever after with her prince who will love her unconditionally.

I too had that dream. For as long as I can remember, I’ve longed for a love that would last.

Maybe it was having so many wonderful examples of Christ-centered marriage to witness firsthand or maybe, it was just watching too many Disney movies.

Either way, one of the deepest desires of my heart has long been to live happily ever after with my very own Prince Charming.

What seemed like an eternity then, passed quickly and my little girl dreams turned into real desires that I was so anxious to have fulfilled.

I graduated from high school, a year early, at only sixteen, with those dreams stronger than ever. I just knew my Prince would soon arrive.

But the following summer, instead of riding off into the sunset, I was picking up the pieces of my shattered dreams and broken heart.

Love, or at least what I thought was love, didn’t last nearly as long as I had hoped.

And I watched my would-be Prince drive away as I watched in desperation.

I didn’t know it then, but it was the greatest thing, next to salvation, that could have ever happened to me.

Just a few short days later, I sat in tears on my bedroom floor. But these tears were different.

They flowed freely as I read a beautiful and passionate letter written just for me.

His words were a balm to my brokenness,

Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee. Jer. 31:3

And drawing me He was.

He continued to speak with such gentleness as He wrapped His strong arms around me.

He made amazing promises. Most of which seemed too good to be true, but He had me at “I Love You!” I knew He meant them unlike the empty ones I had clung to before.

He promised to “hold (my) hand, and…keep (me).” Isaiah 42:6

He assured me that my scarlet sins would not separate me from Him, that He would make me “as white as snow.” Isaiah 1:18

He listened intently as I poured out my heart, the regrets of the last year, the desires still unfulfilled, the uncertainty as to what was ahead.

And instead of turning to walk away, He “called (me) by name” and claimed me as His own!!!! Isaiah 43:1

Six years later, He has proved to be my Prince Charming, indeed!

He has loved me faithfully. Fervently.

He has gone to great lengths to give me His best.

I have His undivided attention at all times.

He listens when I complain. He dries my tears when I cry! (And boy, do I cry!)

He continually looks beyond my many faults and meets my deepest needs.

He loves me with a love that won’t stop.

He loves me for me yet loves me enough not to leave me this way!

Regardless of my frailties.

No matter what.

In spite of myself.

Forever and ever.

He is my Prince Charming and has fulfilled the desires He so lovingly placed there when He created me!

And as an added bonus, He has now blessed me with someone who loves me deeply as well! Someone who daily and continually loves me with a love that only comes from Him! 🙂

I have been so overwhelmed by this today! So grateful for the priceless gift He continually offers though I am so undeserving!

I have felt the closeness of my Jesus and have been comforted in ways even words can’t even describe!

Praying you know His unconditional love this week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I should be blogging consistently from here on out! I took the plunge and bought a MacBook Pro! 🙂

Leave a Reply

