The Gift of Gladness

15 Mar

While treading the rough road I wrote about a few days ago, it is all too easy to succomb to feelings of sadness and frustration. Whether the feelings come from focusing on others and what they have or on myself and what I don’t, I can go through weeks at a time living in misery.

It is not a fun place to be.

And yet day after day, I remain paralyzed by impatience.

I muddle through teaching, a job I once enjoyed greatly.

I lack the enthusiam and energy to accomplish much of anything.

I am grouchy and fussy.

I serve in various ministry positions, I read my Bible, and attempt to stay where I should be, but shiver inside feeling the effects of a heart hardened by disappointment and discouragement.

That is until I realize that I’ve been missing it.

It being the great gift of gladness.

“The hope of the righteous shall be gladness..”

Proverbs 10:28

I found this gift nestled in Proverbs as I spent a few minutes in my Bible before bed the other night.

It had been another one of those days.

I almost turned out the light defeated,

again.

But my sweet Saviour offered His gift,

again.

Just as He does everyday.

This gift is available to me each and every moment.

But as is the case with any other gift, it must be opened to be enjoyed.

The gift remains regardless of the circumstance.

I can accept gladness in the good times and most importantly in the not so good, but accept it I must.

I must open it each and every day,

“If you would live in victory over the circumstances great and small that come to you each day…and if you want God’s life and power to well up from the depths of your being…then you must refuse to be dominated by the seen and the felt.

~ Amy Carmichael

I must kneel before my God each morning and ask Him to help me open this precious gift. I will forever be dominated by the seen and the felt if I keep trying to live without the gladness He offers so freely.

This gladness gives me hope even when walking the rough places in this journey.

In fact, the word “gladness” literally means gleefulness or to be merry!

His gladness is the kind of gladness that puts a smile on my face even when I don’t feel like smiling!

His gladness bubbles up and overflows.

His gladness gives the energy I need to teach well and enjoy it.

His gladness makes my service effective.

His gladness melts the icy cold that can envelope my heart.

But I will only enjoy His gift of gladness after I remove the bow and tear off the wrapping paper!

“….The joy of the Lord is your strength…”

Nehemiah 8:10

One Response to “The Gift of Gladness”

  1. Alexis March 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    This has been my heart since “everything” happened!! Thanks so much for putting it into words for me! Your friendship means so much to me, Sara!!

    (@boyswillbejoys on twitter now)

Leave a Reply

