I Still…

21 Feb

Struggle.

with being who I wish I was. If only I was this or even that, things would certainly be better.

with being content in my current circumstances.

with trusting His timing. I tend to keep looking at the clock, wondering “When, Lord?”

with worry.

with measuring up to my own standards. Tip-toes. High heels. Standing up straight. It doesn’t matter. I’m still not quite tall enough. 

with loving my Lord with as much passion and devotion as I should. 

with comparing myself to others. My weaknesses and their strengths seem to scream “Inadequate!” to my insecure heart.

with laziness that keeps me from time in His Word.

with the long list of struggles from this post.

And my struggles can stop me dead in my tracks of spiritual growth.

When I am struggling, the Deceiver himself has me exactly where he wants me. Focused on me. Focused on my frailty and failures. Focused on everything except for Jesus and what He desires for me.

When I am struggling, I cannot serve others because I’m too concerned about what they’re thinking or what they are that I am not.

When I am struggling, I cannot savor my current season because I’m too worried about when the next one will begin.

When I am struggling, I cannot love Him fully because I’m too busy loving my own plans and thinking I know better.

When I am struggling, I cannot use my time wisely because I’m too consumed with selfish pursuits.

Do you see what I mean? Struggling stops me quickly and easily.

Because in reality, in light of Scripture, struggling is sin.

Nearly six summers ago, when the Lord was busy changing my life (Thank You, Jesus!), He used this verse, and tonight He has been using it again,

  “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;”

2 Corinthians 10:5

Most of my struggles are inward struggles, struggles that are usually in the form of thoughts. Thoughts that exalt themselves against the knowledge of my God, of who He is and who I am because of Him.

And in this verse, He speaks clearly as to what I should do with such struggles,

He wants me to “cast (them) down.” This phrase literally means to demolish and destroy with violence!

I had to chuckle when I studied this out! He’s giving me permission to use violence! 🙂

I think this shows how serious He is about the sin of struggling (or any sin, for that matter!). He knows how destructive it is when allowed to run rampant. So His solution is to destroy it before it destroys me!

And with what should I destroy the sinful struggles?

  “(For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) … And having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience, when your obedience is fulfilled.”

2 Corinthians 10:4-6

By using the most powerful weapons He’s given. 

Constant praying, being ever-ready to surrender each struggle realizing it is nothing short of disobedience.

Continual time in His Word, renewing my mind, ridding it of the thoughts that so quickly destroy His Work in my heart.

I must give my struggles to my Savior because I am no match for Satan on my own, and He is mighty enough to save me from the destruction of each and every one of them.

  “For he that is mighty hath done to me great things; and holy is his name.”

 Luke 1:49

Leave a Reply

