Longing to…

13 Feb

live “I Love You!”

as I continue through 1 Corinthians 13.

Verse 5 “Charity…doth not behave itself unseemly.”

Unseemly: to be or to act unbecoming, uncomely, shapeless, inelegant

From this verse, I am reminded that love is shown best through behavior. Words are great. After all, who doesn’t like to hear words of devotion and care from another? But, true love strives to make it’s every action becoming, beautiful, even to the point of elegant. According to Scripture, anything short of beautiful can’t really be classified using the “l” word!

I don’t know about you, but there are many days when I find myself “behaving unseemly” toward the ones I love the most and toward my Loving Lord. Days when “I Love You” is just another passing phrase. Days when what I’m wearing spiritually is shapeless, stained and sinful, far from becoming. Days when I fall into bed, knowing I’ve got much to learn.

Verse 5 continued “Charity…seeketh not her own.”

Self-seeking is a sure sign of someone who hasn’t yet learned what it means to truly love another. Especially when it comes to our walks with our Lord, we won’t get very far with self as a priority. Numerous times in the book of Proverbs, we read how pride equals quick falls and certain destruction (Prov. 16:18) while humility brings grace and exaltation (Prov.15:33, 1 Peter 5:5). To live “I Love You,” we must seek the best for others, for the cause of Christ, even if it means putting them or Him before ourselves (it usually will!).

verse 5 continued “Charity…is not easily provoked.”

To be provoked is to be irritated or extremely annoyed. When we are self-seeking, we will find, or at least I find myself, to be easily bothered and frustrated by others. This verse puts it plainly. Love in action is “not easily provoked.” Oh, Lord, help me to keep my eyes on You and not on myself that I might live “I Love You!”

The concluding phrase in verse 5 was the one that settled the heaviest on my heart.

“Charity…thinketh no evil.”

Not an earth-shattering statement at first, but this Truth gripped my heart as I dug into it. The word “thinketh” means much more than I thought. This kind of thinking refers to the act of taking inventory, to number, to take account of “evil” or worthless and injurious things.

Did that hit home for anyone else?

I’ve mentioned before that I love making plans. In order to carry out my plans, I often make lists. Unfortunately, this tendency has also led to making lists of a different kind. I am SO guilty of taking inventory of the injurious things done by others. Though not a list written with ink, a list kept in my heart. A list that keeps me from loving others like a should.

My Bible says that true love doesn’t make lists.

I think about how large the list would be if my Lord or even others, for that matter, were to keep a record of all the worthless and injurious things I’ve done.

I’m so grateful that grace and forgiveness have buried that list in the depths of the sea! (Micah 7:19)

There is so much substance to these verses! So much work to be done! I stand amazed at the patience and true love of my Lord and others in my life while I’m still learning! Grateful for love that loves though I am so unloveable!

a repost from the archives!

Leave a Reply

