For Me.

8 Feb

In the middle of a game of Hide and Seek with my favorite four-year old, I glanced at the open hymnal on the piano ledge from my cramped hiding spot.

For Me.

The title grabbed my attention.

Only taking up the bottom half of the page, it didn’t take long to read the three short verses.

O why? O why? In dark Gethsemane, did Jesus, glorious Prince of Peace, pray long in agony?

For me!  For me! In dark Gethsemane, He knelt.  He prayed. He bled. He cried in agony for me!

O why? O why? In court of equity, did Jesus, Maker of Mankind, endure humility?

For me!  For me! In court of equity, He took the lash, the shame, the scorn in silence ALL for me!

O why? O why? On cruel Calvary, did Jesus, mighty King of Kings, hang on the shameful tree?

For me! For me! On cruel Calvary, the nails, the spear, the thirst, the thorns, He suffered ALL for me!

~John Bieri

What a glorious thought!

Jesus, the Prince of Peace, the Maker of Mankind, the King of Kings, gave up His throne for me!

“And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly: and his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground.”

  Luke 22:44  

He prayed passionately and fervently until His sweat became blood.

He prayed for me!

  “He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth.”

Isaiah 53:7

He stood quietly in Pilate’s Hall enduring the pain of the piercing crown upon His head though He had the power to silence each false accuser.

 He stood for me!

  “Then delivered he him therefore unto them to be crucified. And they took Jesus, and led him away. And he bearing his cross went forth into a place called the place of a skull, which is called in the Hebrew Golgotha: Where they crucified him, and two other with him, on either side one, and Jesus in the midst.”

John 19:16-18

He carried the splintered timber up Golgotha’s Hill. He died a gruesome and excruciating death upon a cross erected by cruel Roman soldiers.

  He hung for me!

The lash upon His back.  The nails ripping through His hands. The shame upon His sinless body.

He suffered it all for me!

And I go through every day missing the awesomeness of It.

I neglect to dwell upon It.

To live in a way that shows my gratefulness.

I long to give my all for Him because He gave His all for me.

 

“There is nothing wanting in my Lord, Christ hath done it all.”

~Charles Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

