It’s Amazing.

4 Feb

I have thoroughly enjoyed the many days of snow and school closings lately giving me extra time to spend in God’s Word, but this week has been a bit busier with only one day off so here it is Friday, and I haven’t blogged since Monday!

After a busy day of getting back into the swing of things in the classroom, I fell into bed around 11:30, tempted to go to bed empty.

 Fighting self and attempting to keep my heavy eyelids open, I opened my Bible to at least read a Psalm or something short before falling asleep. And I am so glad I did!

I ended up in Job chapter thirty-eight. A lengthy chapter as opposed to the short, quick read I was searching for that blessed my heart in a wonderful way!

It left me in awe of my God, all over again. In awe of His control over His vast creation and over the smallest details and circumstances of my life.

“And said, Hitherto shalt thou come, but no further: and here shall thy proud waves be stayed?” v.11

It’s amazing that the same God that keeps the ocean’s powerful waters from soaking the sand keeps the waters of spiritual storms from overtaking me.

Hast thou commanded the morning since thy days; and caused the dayspring to know his place;” v.12

It’s amazing that the same God whose words set the sun to shining has given me His Son to bring light to the dark places in my heart. 

  “Hast thou perceived the breadth of the earth? declare if thou knowest it all.” v.18

It’s amazing that the same God who knows the measurements of the Earth He created also knows the number of my days, the reasons behind the waiting, the purposes for which He has called me to serve Him at this place, in this season.

  “Hast thou entered into the treasures of the snow? or hast thou seen the treasures of the hail,” v.22

It’s amazing that the same God who owns a storehouse of snow large enough to cover miles and miles of ground owns my heart treasuring it with the same diligence and care.

  “Who hath divided a watercourse for the overflowing of waters, or a way for the lightning of thunder; To cause it to rain on the earth, where no man is; on the wilderness, wherein there is no man; To satisfy the desolate and waste ground; and to cause the bud of the tender herb to spring forth?” v. 25-27

It’s amazing that the same God who sends rain to the parched and cracked ground sends the Rain of His Word to my dry and dusty soul. Rain that turns brown and withered into green and thriving.

” Wilt thou hunt the prey for the lion? or fill the appetite of the young lions,…Who provideth for the raven his food? when his young ones cry unto God, they wander for lack of meat.” v.39,41

It’s amazing that the same God who provides food and nourishment for the animals provides the strength of Scripture to feed and nourish my hungry soul.

Forty-one verses later, I turned off the small lamp that brought a dim glow to the darkness of midnight, satisfied and amazed at my Amazing God who loves me enough to leave me in awe of who He is and who He longs to be to me if I’ll only take the time to allow Him the liberty.

One Response to “It’s Amazing.”

  1. Alexis February 5, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    It’s amazing how God’s Word speaks to our hearts! It’s amazing how the same verse can speak to two hearts in completely different ways. It’s amazing how a God with so much power cares enough to guide our fingers across a keyboard. It’s amazing that He loves us in spite of our failures. It’s amazing that He’s given us the grace to be aware of Him…and amazed!!

    Sorry I’ve been slacking on the commenting lately. Most of my computer time is when I’m up at night with the baby (like now) and I only have one free hand. BUT I am still reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

