Another enemy…

27 Jan

The Lord is good! On Monday, He began instructing me again in the important lesson of spending time with Him each day. And since then, He has given me two wonderful days at home with plenty of time to do just that due to the beautiful blanket of white covering the frozen ground outside!

Over the last two days, He has been teaching me a lot about yet another enemy of spiritual growth that can be all too prevalent in my life.

“For even Christ pleased not himself…”

Romans 15:3

This small phrase hit me like a ton of bricks this morning.

Christ. The Very One, the Only One, who deserved to please Himself, didn’t.

He was the picture of selflessness.

He sought to serve.

While I battle the opposite each day.

I am selfish. I make choices based on my wants without considering those of others. Engrained deep within me is a desire to put me first.

I read the verse again,

“For even Christ pleased not himself…”

He breathed life into those He walked among, into those who certainly didn’t have His best interests in mind. He had the power to force each and every one of them to drop everything and worship Him, yet He “pleased not himself.” He came with the purpose of serving.

And He has challenged my heart to fight the enemy of selfishness with a heart sold out to serving Him by serving others.

More verses from Romans fifteen continued to speak clearly,

“Let everyone of us please his neighbor for his good to edification…” (v.2)

Please my neighbor? My first thoughts are “But what about me?” “What about what I want?”  But there’s no arguing with Scripture! Blessing comes when I battle the enemy of selfishness with the polar opposite, when I seek to “spend and be spent” (2 Cor. 12:15) , giving my all for others.

But why? Why does He make such a big deal about selflessness?

Reading on, I found the answer in verse six,

“That ye may…glorify God…”

I put others first when everything in me wants to focus on me not so everyone else will sing my praises, but that the Only One who can give me the ability to do so will receive the glory and honor due to His Name.

 He tells us in Matthew 25:40, that we are really serving our Savior when we serve others.  

“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

And after serving us in the ultimate way by being nailed to the splintered wood of a rugged cross upon Calvary, He promises that He will one day serve us in Heaven.

  “Blessed are those servants, whom the lord when he cometh shall find watching: verily I say unto you, that he shall gird himself, and make them to sit down to meat, and will come forth and serve them.”

Luke 12:37

He has given us such a wonderful example to follow.

 He longs for us to say yes to the selfless service of others that we might know the joy of truly serving Him.

One Response to “Another enemy…”

  1. Uncle Joe January 28, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    I believe this post deals with one of the greatest battles we all face each day. Thank you for the challenge to be servant of all.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

