Running On Empty

25 Jan

The needle slowly drops toward the tiny capital E, but I know I can make it a few more miles.

I have a hundred places to be and a hundred more things to do as the clock tracks the minutes that seem to pass quicker than they come.

A dashboard light flashes “CHECK GAUGES!” but I neglect the orange-colored warning.

I am running on empty.

A scene that seems like it would be unfolding in my car as I rush from Point A to Point B has actually been more of a reality in my everyday life over the last couple of weeks.

I am so guilty of running on empty, of jumping out of bed and rushing into the day without filling up first. All seems well until I run out of spiritual energy with most of the day in front of me, with so much left to accomplish.

I am left to serve without His strength. I am barely surviving when I should be thriving in the places He’s so graciously entrusted to my stewardship. Those around me suffer because I am trying to run on empty.

I sputter through days, weeks, and if I’m not careful months before I can no longer run on the fumes that remain.

I cannot function on empty. I must fill up with the Life-giving fuel found only in the Word of God.

  “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Matthew 6:33

My sinfulness and pure laziness so often keep me from fueling like I should, from seeking first my Savior and my life and ministry are  impacted.

Running on empty has become one of my greatest enemies.

I found this verse this morning and it quickly became the  prayer upon my heart,

“O my God, I trust in thee: let me not be ashamed, let not mine enemies triumph over me.”

Psalm 25:2

This enemy can quickly triumph without time with Jesus each day.

It’s been nearly six years since He began teaching me how crucial it is to seek first, yet I still allow so many mornings to pass neglecting to do so.

I run empty, and it makes me miserable.

I run empty, and it breaks the heart of my Lord.

I am sick of running on empty and ready to seek Him consistently, but simply desiring to do so won’t fill up what’s lacking.

Only “He (can) pluck my feet out of the net” (Psalm 25:15) of  the emptiness I so often find myself running on.

So as January quickly fades into February, I will refuse to ignore the needle resting on E in the bottom of my longing heart. I will seek first and run on the strength of my Savior.

  “… As thy days, so shall thy strength be.”

Deuteronomy 33:25

2 Responses to “Running On Empty”

  1. Orville & Joyce January 26, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Great post, something we must learn to do. Amen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Amazing. « LovingmyLord's Blog - February 5, 2011

    […] After a busy day of getting back into the swing of things in the classroom, I fell into bed around 11:30, tempted to go to bed empty. […]

Leave a Reply

