Giving Up on Perfect

4 Jan

There’s just something about the new year that brings a desire for a fresh start.

And something about a fresh start that makes me set out with grand ambitions of perfection even when it comes to small things like writing neatly on my new desk calendar!

As I crossed off December 31st, I sat down to fill in events for the month to come, but five minutes into my attempt at perfect I needed the White-Out.

Despite a crisp blank page and a brand-new pen, I quickly failed to complete even a simple task like this one without mistakes. 

New, fresh and clean didn’t stay new, fresh, and clean for very long!

It may seem like a simple thing, but it quickly mirrored what I knew the year ahead would be like if I had anything to do with it. Perfect and me have never been the best of friends!  No matter how hard I try or how much time I spend on a certain task, it’s not quite right. The Enemy knows that he can quickly discourage me by pointing out all of the ways I haven’t quite measured up. 

And he was using this simple task to defeat an already vulnerable spirit. Until I heard my Lord whisper,

“Child, you can’t do perfect and that’s why my mercies are “new every morning.” (Lam. 3:23) You will mess up and that’s why I’ve promised “forgiveness of sins according to the riches of (my) grace!” (Eph. 1:7) Child, won’t you please give up on perfect and give in to Me? I long to give you abilities far beyond those you possess on your own!

He urged me to find confidence in Him, alone,

  “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness…”     

2 Corinthians 12:9     

When surrendered to Him, my imperfection becomes a blessing,

  “But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence. But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption: That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”    

 1 Corinthians 1:27-31 

It enables me to seek Him for the strength I so desperately need, for the success I often unsuccessfully strive for on my own. I must find my identity in Him. When in the heat of the battle between my desire for perfect and the frailty of my far-from-perfect flesh, I am never more aware of my inability to glory in anything I can attempt to accomplish. I am fully convinced of the fact that I can only glory in my Jesus.

And after I give up on my idea of perfect, He’s calling me to pursue another kind of perfect, the kind that has absolutely nothing to do with me and everything to do with following close behind my King.

“Let your heart therefore be perfect with the LORD our God, to walk in his statutes, and to keep his commandments, as at this day.”

1 Kings 8:61 

And when I am fully concentrated on pursuing my Savior, He will take care of the rest!

  “The LORD will perfect that which concerneth me:”

Psalm 138:8

So I’m adding giving up on perfect to my list of New Year’s Resolutions and praying He’ll continue to teach lessons like this one with everyday items like White-Out and desk calendars! 🙂

Happy 1st Tuesday of 2011, sweet friends!

2 Responses to “Giving Up on Perfect”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broken Pencils. « LovingmyLord's Blog - February 18, 2011

    […] white-out and desk calendars and even my messy […]

  2. Cupcakes and Contentment « LovingmyLord's Blog - May 23, 2011

    […] so patiently teaching me! It’s just like Him to use something like cupcakes, just like He used white-out, broken pencils and my messy room, to lovingly remind me of things I should have learned years […]

Leave a Reply

