Dear Alexis,

20 Nov

I’m praying for you!

About a month ago, I got an email from a girl who had been reading my blog and wanted to let me know she was blessed by what she read. Since then we have emailed back and forth, finding out that we have a lot in common, primarily a love for our Lord and a desire to live for Him! I am so grateful for her friendship though it has only been by way of email and Twitter! It has been such a blessing since I don’t have many good friends who are close to my age! Leave it to the Lord to introduce us by way of technology. 🙂

Alexis and her husband have an adorable little boy and were planning for the arrival of their second little blessing in a few months.  However, due to some complications it seems that their baby boy will arrive much sooner than anticipated. (You can read more about the circumstance on her blog.)

 I have been thinking of their family all day today and wanted to share this prayer request with you. Please pray that our Heavenly Father would grant peace in this uncertain time.

In Psalm 29:11, He promises He will.

  “The LORD will give strength unto his people; the LORD will bless his people with peace.”

A few years ago, when a storm surrounded our family, He gave me the words to this song. Assuring me that He picked the storm specifically and would give peace in the midst of it! On the other side of that storm, we have found Him faithful to His Word!

I know He’ll do the same for Alexis and her family!

All of a sudden, I felt strong winds blowing

Rain pouring down, like a river flowing

Fear is gripping, as the tide begins to rise

Trusting in the One who knows where it came from and why it came

I’ll take this storm, lay it before Him, calling on His name

 

Because He knows why and He knows how long.

He sent this storm to make me strong.

Though winds are blowing, rain pouring down,

In my soul, peace can be found.

 

Soaking wet from the rain,

deafened by the thunder,

But I know I’m in His hands and I’m not going under,

He’s in control, as the tide begins to rise,

Life is fierce, my troubles and trials are demanding,

But I’ll take this storm, praise Him for peace beyond my understanding.

 

Because He knows why and He knows how long.

He sent this storm to make me strong.

Though winds are blowing, rain pouring down,

In my soul, peace can be found.

Peace found because He is faithful even through the fear!

Thank you in advance for lifting this sweet family to the Lord!

  “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 4:7

 

One Response to “Dear Alexis,”

  1. Alexis November 21, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    Thank you so much, Sara. I feel like I’ve been riding on the wings of prayer for the last few days. Every time I try to pray for our baby, the only words that I can say is “Oh, Lord!” There is so much that we would ask Him for right now, but I don’t even know where to begin. I am so thankful for the Word of God, and for the promise within the Scripture. Everytime I try to pray and I feel Satan trying to discourage me with my inability to convey the depth of my plea, the Spirit brings the words of Romans 8:26 to my mind.

    “Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

    I am resting tonight in peace that the Lord sees the entire situation through unfailing eyes, and that He loves us all with an unfailing love. We committed our children to Him before we were even married, and, though we may not understand the path before us, it is in His will and His Word that we find comfort.

    Thank you so much, sweet friend. You can’t begin to know what it means to me.

Leave a Reply

