Unchanging

9 Nov

I am so thankful that this is a quality of my Jesus!

Over the last two years, my life has been changing rapidly!

With new doors opening and others closing, change has been constant. 

Most of the changes have been good changes, others painful changes, but regardless, He has remained unchanged!

This short verse of Scripture has been on my heart today,

 “Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and today, and for ever.”

 Hebrews 13:8 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t always do well with change! I sometimes long to push the pause button and make time stand still.

In my perfect world…

my little cousin would forever be the adorable little three-year old who loves to play tea-party with my antique dishes!

My week-night dinners with my grandparents would be on the schedule every week for the rest of my life!

I would spend my years teaching the same students I teach today!

Life as I know it now wouldn’t change.

But at the same time, my heart yearns deeply for the changes that will come in the (hopefully, near!) future! I am often torn between the two!

I know that change is inevitable, but I am so thankful that there will forever be One who is constantly the same!

“The satisfaction that the mariner feels, when, after having been tossed about for many a day, he puts his foot upon the solid shore, is just the satisfaction of a Christian when, amidst all the changes of this troublous life, he plants the foot of his faith upon such a text as this—”the same yesterday, and to-day, and for ever.” The same stability that the anchor gives the ship, when it hath at last got the grip of some immovable rock, that same stability doth our hope give to our spirits, when, like an anchor, it fixes itself in a truth so glorious as this—”Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to-day, and for ever.”

~ Charles Spurgeon

One Response to “Unchanging”

  1. Uncle Joe November 10, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    It is good to know that as a Christian we have such a firm, unchanging foundation. I was reminded of a song as I read your post. On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.

Leave a Reply

