Ordinary

26 Oct

Sometimes, I get weary of the ordinary. Though I live by my desk calendar and thrive when all goes according to planned, there are days when the ordinary becomes, well, ordinary.

Life seems mundane and somewhat boring.

 I wonder how God could ever use me?

Papers to grade. Laundry to fold. Lessons to prepare. With every day mirroring the day before, I long for adventure, for something new.  I feel average, trapped in my schedule, like what I’m constantly striving to accomplish is of little worth until I pause to ponder the great servants in Scripture.

In Exodus, I see Him call a man with a twisted tongue to stand before Pharoah pleading for the release of His people. (Ex. 4:10)

Though He could have found  a man with better public speaking skills, God picked Moses.

In 1 Samuel, I find Him anointing a young shepherd boy to rule over Israel though many others seemed a better fit. (1 Sam. 16:7)

Surely one of David’s older brothers had the necessary attributes, but God wanted the boy who spent his days with sheep.

In Esther, I read of a young orphan girl promoted to queen that she might be used in a mighty way. (Es. 2:17)

An orphan, queen? Wasn’t there someone better? This girl didn’t have the lineage of royalty, but God picked her specifically.

In the four Gospels, I see Jesus chosing the ordinary to accompany Him throughout His earthly ministry. (Matthew 4:18-20)

When He could have chosen men of nobility, He chose men that spent their days upon the Sea of Galilee. Simple, ordinary, common men who made their living in a fishing boat. 

Over and over again, I find examples of the ordinary that God used in extraordinary ways.

And suddenly the ordinary doesn’t seem as mundane.

Paul tells us that God picks the ordinary on purpose.

 “ For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence.”

1 Corinthians 1:26-29

As long as I feel ordinary, He can work through me. The moment I start to feel like I’m something, I quickly cancel out His power.

I am grateful for His willingness to have a personal relationship with ordinary people like you and me!

Leave a Reply

