A Lesson from Caleb

13 Oct

The Lord had used Moses to safely lead the Israelites out of slavery despite the many refusals of Pharoah.

He had opened the Red Sea just in the nick of time.

He had provided for their every need as they began the journey toward the Promised Land.

There’s only one problem.

They’re ready to go back to Egypt.

Yep, you read that right. They are preparing to take the journey back to a land that means slavery though freedom is but steps away.

 “And they said one to another, Let us make a captain, and let us return into Egypt.”

Numbers 14:4 

 They were ready to give up an “exceeding good land,” (Numbers 14:7) making plans to elect a leader and high-tail it back to bondage!

And yet again the cause of their new plan being fear, unbelief that the God that had brought them out of slavery could also keep them safe in a land prepared especially for them.

They believed they knew better than the All-Knowing God of Heaven.

“…Were it not better for us to return into Egypt?” ( Numbers 14:3)

They began to question His perfect plan.

Reading this account, I could be quick to judge the Israelites for their doubt, but today the Lord met me right where I am with it.

Showing me yet another parallel.

As I stand on the threshold of a new season, I have found myself doubting.

My attitude and actions have mirrored those of God’s chosen people thousands of year prior.

Letting my fear take me as far as wishing I could go back to the past when He has blessed me with so many of the desires of my heart because of where I am today.

After years of waiting and of what felt at times to be aimless wandering, I am finally approaching my Promised Land only to be so scared of the giants, of circumstances and conditions stronger than me, that I want to turn back!

His Word hit me hard today and I am so grateful.

I found the correction and help, I needed in Caleb’s words.

 “And Caleb stilled the people before Moses, and said, Let us go up at once, and possess it; for we are well able to overcome it.”  (Numbers 13:30)

I am “well able to overcome” the challenges that this new season will bring. Not because I am capable but because “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Philippians 4:13)

“If the LORD delight in us, then he will bring us into this land, and give it us; a land which floweth with milk and honey.” (Numbers 14:8)

The God that brought me this far will lead me safely to the place He’s prepared.

“…the Lord is with us…” (Numbers 14:9)

He is with me and will protect me from the attacks of the giants that I must face.

His precious Word never fails to give the faith I need to assure me  that I am exactly where He wants me, headed in the exact direction He desires.

The road is long and winding. A bit frightening,  but incredibly exciting! In spite of the giants, I am on my way to the Promised Land He’ s prepared for me!

I am so thankful for a lesson learned from the life and faith of  “Caleb the son of Jephunneh.” (Numbers 13:6)

Leave a Reply

