Rock of Ages

30 Sep

cleft for me! Let me hide myself in Thee!

I have been singing this old hymn all afternoon! I am thankful that I was blessed with the privilege of growing up in church services where hymns like this one were sung. And even more grateful that there are still churches that use songs like this one, penned by precious saints of years gone by, as a part of worship.

I think of Paul’s admonition in Ephesians 5:19, urging us to speak to “…ourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord;”

Though rainy days are typically wish-I-could’ve-stayed-in-bed kind of days, meditating upon Scripture and singing spiritual songs has brought much sunshine to my heart today!

This line in particular has permeated thoughts,

“In my hands no price I bring. Simply to Thy cross I cling!”

I am so aware tonight of my total dependence upon God.

My hands are empty.

 My heart is sinful.

I am so very weak, but He is strong! I am full of doubt, but He is faithful! I have absolutely nothing to offer Him, but with His working in my life much can be accomplished! I am insecure, but He is my Security.When I approach the Throne of Grace, I come empty-handed for I have no righteousness of my own. My righteousness is as ” filthy rags” (Isaiah 64:6 ) I certainly don’t deserve to be in the Presence of a Holy and Righteous God, but I can come clinging to the Cross and Christ’s accomplished work!

The lines that precede this line are equally as wonderful! They make the point clear that we cannot attain salvation apart from faith in Jesus Christ and further more we cannot accomplish anything in His Service apart from Him either!

“Could my tears forever flow, Could my zeal no languor know, These for sin could not atone Thou must save and Thou alone!”

Even if I spent forever serving,  it would never be enough! Even if I were striving to be ‘good enough’ every day of my life, it would never work! He must save, and He alone! I could plant and water, but it is in vain if He doesn’t give the increase! (1 Cor. 3:7)

“Rock of Ages, cleft for me! Let me hide myself in Thee!” 

If I desire to accomplish anything for Jesus, I must hide in Him and rely upon His Sufficiency!

Leave a Reply

