Perfect.

28 Sep

It’s a never-ending attempt at the impossible.

No matter how hard I try.

Regardless of how much effort I put forth.

As long as I am in this flesh, I will never be perfect.

Despite the dreams of serving in the perfect ministry, enjoying the perfect marriage with the perfect spouse while raising perfect kids, I quickly realize that there is no such thing as the perfect life.

Instead, I find myself far from everything that I’ve always wanted to be perfect.

The harder I try, the more I fail.

I wonder, “Why even try?”

My heart is heavy, my countenance reflecting defeat.

Until I understand what perfect really is.

In the middle of my Bible, in Psalm 138, the Lord speaks to my far-from-perfect heart.

“The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me.” (v.8)

He reminds me that creating the perfect life is not up to me.

When I invited Him into my heart in 1997 and again, five years ago, when I told Him that I wanted His plan not my own, I traded my idea of perfect for His.

He will bring His plan to pass. He promises He will in verse after verse of Scripture.

He strengthens my heart with Psalm 37:5,

“Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

Job 23:10,

” But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.”

James 1:4,

” But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

His Plan ensures perfection. Not the perfection that means a life without problems or struggles that I envision, but the His kind of perfection. Perfection that means He’ll allow tough times to draw me closer to Him. Perfection that means painful trials that prove profitable. Perfection that means He is increased and I am decreased. Perfection that means He works it all for my good and yet He is glorified!

I’ll take His idea of perfect for it will be far better than my own! 🙂

Leave a Reply

