Pride and Patience

22 Sep

I’ve never really thought about the two being related until I read this verse in Ecclesiastes chapter seven yesterday. 

  “…the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit.”

 Ecclesiastes 7:8

But the truth is when I’m failing to be patient, I am really being prideful.

Pride thinks it knows best and is quickly frustrated when things don’t go according to planned.

Pride is the place where I believe I know more than my all-wise and all-knowing God.

Pride gets mad and throws a spiritual temper tantrum complaining that “It’s not fair.”

Pride kicks the dirt, seemingly unyielding, discouraged by it’s lack of fruit after so much time and energy have been spent in planting.

Patience trusts that the Creator of the Plan is more than capable of carrying it out at the perfect time.

Patience believes that “…(s)he that feareth God shall come forth of them all.” (Ecc. 7:18) even when current circumstances don’t look promising.

Patience knows that “…it shall be well…” (Ecc. 8:12) though the waiting is painful.

Patience looks at the dirt, though there’s no sign of a single sprout, believing that a harvest of beautiful flowers are just about to bloom.

 I’d never really thought of myself as a prideful person, but this verse tells me otherwise. Impatience has long been my thorn in the flesh. I’m definitely a kick the dirt kind of girl.

I’m grateful that the Gardener is teaching me what it means to rest in patient peacefulness knowing He has a glorious purpose for every single second He asks me to wait.

He wants me to trade my pride for His patience.

One Response to “Pride and Patience”

  1. kimberly September 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    I have written out this verse in my journal, and plan to post it somewhere I can see it everyday! Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

