I wish.

20 Sep

When I think back on the hard seasons in my life, I recall very specific times when I’ve failed to believe Him like He deserves to be believed only to see Him prove faithful again and again.

Times when I haven’t trusted Him like He longs for me to.

I look back regretting the time I wasted.

I read this today and could relate,

“For every fearful peek into the future, I wish I had looked to Christ instead. For each imaginary trouble conjured up, I wish I had recalled the specific, unfailing faithfulness of God. In place of dismay and dread, I wish I had exhibited hope and joy. I wish I had approached….(life)… like the preacher Charles Spurgeon approached his job: ‘forecasting victory, not foreboding defeat.”

 ~Carolyn Mahaney

I want to have faith instead of fear. He’s always been faithful in the past and the future won’t be any different so why do I worry?

I wish I could go back and redo the times when I was so focused on the circumstance that I missed Christ’s working in it.

I can’t redo yesterday, but I can serve Him better today. Trust Him more. Depend on Him in a deeper way. Live life that I might not have to look back in regret.

I wish that I will be able to live forecasting the victory He’s already promised, resting in the fact that He does “all things well.” Mark 7:37

That I will do more than memorize and write about Scripture, but that He will saturate my heart with It’s life-changing Truth that I might really know what it’s like to trust Him with every fiber of my being.

I am grateful that my wish is not the kind of wish whispered as candle flames upon a birthday cake are extinguished, but a heartfelt desire known and heard by the loving heart and listening ear of my Lord.

He will give grace, granting my wish for a life lived believing He will do what He said He would do!

Leave a Reply

