Great.

17 Aug

“His mercy is so great that it forgives great sins to great sinners, after great lengths of time, and then gives great favours and great privileges, and raises us up to great enjoyments in the great heaven of the great God.” ~ Charles Spurgeon

He has shown me great mercy beginning with the day He changed my standing from sinner to servant!

Oh! To think that His mercy is great enough to forgive great sin! To wipe away the sin that separated me from my Savior and break down “the middle wall of partition between us!”  (Eph. 2:14)

After reading these quotes in my morning devotions, I have been pondering this great mercy. His mercy. Mercy that is mine though I did nothing of merit in order to claim it as my own.

I find my heart agreeing with Jacob as he spoke to his brother, Esau,

“I am not worthy of the least of all the mercies, and of all the truth, which thou hast shewed unto thy servant…” Genesis 32:10

If we could decipher the least of mercy from the greatest, I find myself unworthy of even the least. And certainly undeserving of the great.

You see it was because of mercy that my heart, once dead in trespasses and sins, was quickened to abundant life. (Eph. 2:1) Mercy that saved me from spending eternity in Hell.

Mercy that is “new every morning.” (Lam. 3:22-23)

Mercy that is “rich,” abounding, unable to be exhausted. (Eph. 2:4)

Mercy great enough for my days of great sorrow and yet small enough to meet the tiniest needs of my soul.

Mercy that “is a cordial to (my) drooping spirits; a golden ointment to (my) bleeding wounds; a heavenly bandage to (my) broken bones; a royal chariot for (my) weary feet; a bosom of love for (my) trembling heart.” (C.S.)

Mercy. His Mercy.

 Just the fact that it is mercy coming from my Master makes it great mercy, indeed!

Leave a Reply

