Worry?

8 Aug

Who me?

Yeah, maybe. Just a bit. Every once in a while.

No, if you know me, you know I’ve been known to worry. A lot.

But recently the Lord has been working on my worry. Just as He’s been working on many of the areas I listed in my last post.

Many times in the last few years, I’ve found relief from my worry by going to Jesus’ words in Matthew chapter six. But Friday, He really used it to help me look at worry through His eyes.

I love His Word! I can’t imagine life without It!

“Take therefore no thought for the morrow” vs. 34  “…for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.” v. 32 

I found that according to Him, worry is worthless. Worthless because it can’t help the situation. In fact, the situation doesn’t need help in the first place because He’s always in complete control of it, knowing what we need and what we don’t. He is good. He is Sovereign. Nothing takes Him by surprise. Nothing catches Him off guard. He does “all things well.” (Mark 7:37) So worry is worthless.

  “Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them…Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?” vs. 26, 28-30

I found that worry is a waste of time. Time that I’ve been instructed to redeem, to rescue from loss, to buy up. According to my Saviour, time spent worrying is time wasted. He points me to Creation and creatures that spend their days fulfilling their God-given purposes without a worry about being provided for. No wasted time for the birds in the treetops or the lilies growing so beautifully by the roadside.

“No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.” vs. 24

I found that worry is Satan’s way of controlling my thoughts. Thoughts that are to be Christ-centered, God glorifying thoughts. I am reminded that I can only serve one. Not two. One. When I’m worrying, my focus is inward and not upward like it should be. I am serving self and not my Savior. “Taking thought” has the idea of being careful and anxious about through the idea of distraction. Worry is a distraction and if I’m to be a profitable servant, I can’t afford to be distracted.

 “The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. But if thine eye be evil, thy whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness!” vs. 22-23

And finally, I found that worry doesn’t work. Instead of solving the problems of today, it only creates more. As it keeps my eye from being “single,” it only hinders. What is meant to help figure things out only makes things worse. Draining hope from my heart and stopping me from seeing my life as I should. Worry doesn’t work.

As Holocaust survivor, Corrie Ten Boom, commented on the often silent enemy of worry,

“Worry doesn’t empty tomorrow of it’s sorrow. It empties today of it’s strength.”

I don’t know about you but I don’t do very well on empty.

So I’ll continue to let my Lord work on my worry as I learn to leave my tomorrows where they belong. In the care of my “faithful Creator.” (1 Peter 4:19)

 

One Response to “Worry?”

  1. Uncle Joe August 9, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    If we would all be honest, every one of us has something we worry about. We will try to cover it up by saying we are concerned, but the bottom line is we are worried about whatevcer the situation is. I once heard worry ends where faith begins but faith ends where worry begins. Thanks for reminding uis of the uselessness of worry.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

