A Desire Accomplished

5 Aug

Where has Summer gone?

I can’t believe it’s already August!

Though this Summer has gone by quickly, much faster than any before, I believe, the Lord has allowed me to accomplish much on my To-Do list before returning to the classroom in a few short weeks!

I am finding the Truth in Proverbs 13:19,

 “The desire accomplished is sweet to the soul…”

 From the not-so-fun things like major dusting and the cleaning out of my closet to the things that are much more enjoyable like learning to sew and reading books that have been on the To-Be-Read stack for months, I have found sweet satisfaction in getting what needed to be done, done.

In addition to the work I’ve put into getting things on my To-Do list to the point of checking off, the Lord has been working hard accomplishing much in my heart.

This summer, He’s been faithful to continue teaching the lesson of joy and contentment in everyday circumstances, something He’s been attempting to check off of His list for years now!

Teaching this very slow-learner that the secret to a contented heart is time with Christ each morning.

Words cannot express the difference this makes in my day!

As I learn from the Psalmist, to seek God “early in the morning” before the busyness of the day begins. (Psalm 5:3)

 From the Apostle Paul, to “be content,” through strength only Christ can provide. (Phil. 4:11,13)

From my Lord, Himself, as I see Him in Mark 1:35, “rising up a great while before day” to spend time with His Father.

I am far from a morning person so this has not been an easy endeavor, but I have found “joy unspeakable” in days started with the Savior. (1 Peter 1:8)

He’s been faithful to teach me a lesson in trusting Him with His plan for my life.

As He gives me a more contented heart in today, it’s been a whole lot easier to trust Him to “bring” the future “to pass” in His time and in His way.  (Psalm 37:5)

Continually amazing me with His “perfect” work in the tiny and minute details in my life, confirming over and over again that His way is the best way! (Psalm 18:30)

Faithful to teach me a lesson in the importance of “redeeming the time,” which has helped with the accomplishing of my To-Do list and in feeling like I’m making the days count, like they should always do! (Eph. 5:16)

It’s been such a blessing to turn out the light each night, knowing I’ve done all I can with the precious minutes He’s so graciously given!

Each morning, I’m given 1,440 minutes and if I’m not careful I’ll waste each and every one of them on futile things.

These are just a few of the many lessons He’s spent the Summer of 2010 teaching me!

Through all of this teaching, He’s also taught me that it will take a lifetime to teach me all I need to know.

I am grateful for a Teacher that is willing to teach me the same lessons over and over again! One that is willing to continue teaching until His “desire (is) accomplished.”

Leave a Reply

