On Loving God first…

31 Jul

‘ When I have learnt to love God better than my earthly dearest, I shall love my earthly dearest better than I do now.

Insofar as I learn to love my earthly dearest at the expense of God and instead of God, I shall be moving towards the state in which I shall not love my earthly dearest at all.

When first things are put first, second things are not suppressed but increased. ‘ 

~ C. S. Lewis, Letters of C.S. Lewis (8 November, 1952)

 

 “And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.”

Deuteronomy 6:5

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Matthew 6:33

Praying that your weekend is full of God’s amazing and redeeming love! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

