Learning to Live “I Love You”

26 Jul

Three little words with BIG meaning.

Words that little girls dream their Prince Charming will one day whisper.

Words that we say in our family whenever we’re leaving one another’s presence whether in person or at the end of a phone call. (You just never know if you’ll ever get the chance to say it again.)

Three simple syllables.

 Easy to say.

Much harder to live.

As I began a study of 1 Corinthians chapter 13 today, I have determined to learn to live “I Love You.”

Last week, I was struck by the first part of Romans 12:9,

“Let love be without dissimulation.”

 “Dissimulation” meaning hypocrisy, I have been challenged to make a study of love in light of Scripture that I might love Him and others His way.

In society, love has been twisted and used to classify just about anything.

And if we’re not careful, it can quickly become just another word with little meaning behind it.

As the title of my blog states, I have been striving to love my Lord on a daily basis for the last five years yet so often I find that I am merely saying it and failing to live it.

I was so encouraged by what I learned from the first 4 verses of chapter 13 today!

Verse 1  “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.”

I learned that saying “I Love You” and not living it out in my actions is simply making a lot of worthless noise.

Verse 2 “And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.”

I learned that even though my accomplishments may look great, “I am nothing” without love as the driving force behind them.

Verse 3 “And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.”

Wow! This verse really makes the point clear. I learned that even if I give my ALL, even to the point of giving my life, it profits “NOTHING” without love as the motivation behind it.

After the first 3 verses paint a clear picture of the vain and fruitless efforts of actions without love, the reminder of the chapter lists several characteristics by which true love can be identified.

Verse 4 “Charity suffereth long…”

We usually view love as a bed of roses, sunshine 100% of the time, fireworks in the sky kind of thing. And of course it can be, but there are times that loving someone and especially loving the Lord and living for Him can be anything but perfect. Tough times come. Trials. Testings. Bad days. Rainy days. Days when you can’t see the flowers for the weeds. Days when living “I Love You” is the last thing you feel like doing. But to truly live this love we claim, we must be long-spirited, forbearing, patient.

 Verse 4 continued “Charity…is kind.”

Seems simple. Surely you’ll be kind to the one you love, right? At least most of the time? But as I looked up “kind” in the Original Greek, I found out that this kindness is much more than it appears to be at first glance. The word “kind” literally means to show oneself useful, to act, to furnish what is needed. Sounds like work! I thought love was a walk in the park kind of thing! Nope! True love takes work! Work that is well worth it!

To live “I Love You” we must be willing to work for the benefit of another. When I think about this in light of my Lord, I know I haven’t been as kind to Him as I should be. I haven’t shown myself as useful as I could, but I have been challenged to as I learn to live “I Love You.”

With a study of the first two characteristics, alone, I have learned much that I will assist me in living “I Love You.”

One Response to “Learning to Live “I Love You””

  1. Lynda Love Clark July 27, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Your message always comes at a time just when I need to hear at that moment and at that time – GOD’s master plan

Leave a Reply

