Hello. My Name is…

23 Jul

Clumsy.

If there’s something to trip over and even when there’s not, I will more than likely do so.

When it comes to stairs, I don’t do so well as I am found frequently falling down when trying to navigate them and even prone to fall when going up.

My own two feet tend to get in the way often.

Needless to say, I was never one of the athletic one’s in school.

To say I’m uncoordinated is an understatement.

And, unfortunately, the same is true, spiritually speaking.

How often I find myself falling, tripping over my own two feet. Stumbling, as I attempt to become the Christian my Lord called me to be. Over and over again, I can see the Truth in Paul’s words in Romans 7:19, “For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.”

It can get pretty discouraging! If someone like Paul struggled with stumbling, will I ever overcome and be able to walk with Jesus without doing so?

Just before the tiny book of Jude concludes, I find this verse:

  “Now unto Him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy..”

 v.24

There is One that can “keep me from falling!” And He’s the very One walking with me on each step of this journey. The One for Whom I desire to walk well.

On my own, falling spiritually will quickly become a part of everyday life. Something I’m used to, but don’t enjoy in the least bit! But when He’s holding my hand, I can stride with confidence, confidence in His ability to navigate even the roughest places on the pathway with ease.

 Now, I can relate with the Psalmist in Psalm chapter 3,  “For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.” v.26

 I am so grateful that He walks with me! And that even more than that He desires to make sure that I am walking in a way that’s best for me and most glorifying to Him!

I feel the firm grip of  His hand in mine. The scars in His palm not a sign of weakness and defeat but of strength and victory, the very reason He is “able to keep me from falling.”

Leave a Reply

