On Display

19 Jul

The world is looking.

Other Christians are looking.

My Lord is looking.

I am on display.

 

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

 Romans 12:1-2

The word “present literally meaning to exhibit in the Original Greek, has brought this passage to light in my life over the last few days.

As Christians, we are on display, our lives are on exhibit for the viewing of others at all times. And more importantly is the testimony of the One we represent.

Do you act a bit differently when company visits?  When an unexpected knock at the door comes, do you scramble to clean up a bit? A quick dust of the coffee table. Hurriedly putting things back into their places.  Making sure the house is presentable.

Surely, knowing your living quarters will be on display spurs you to inspect them more thoroughly. 

Would we live our lives differently if we had this mindset?

I think we would.

I read on finding even more instruction and challenge to live in a way that represents Him well.

“Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good.”

 Romans 12:9

Loving my Lord without dissimulation, without hypocrisy. With actions that match the words I speak and the words I write. 

A life of abhorring evil while cleaving to that which is good. To abhor, to detest utterly. To cleave, to glue, to stick. A life of daily surrender finding me upon my knees each morning seeking  His help in sticking myself like glue to Him that I might bless Him with the life that’s on display before many.  Allowing Him to inspect my heart often to make sure what is on display is pleasing and glorifying.

He finds my heart in need of cleaning up more often than not. Dust. Dirt. Cobwebs. Sin. He has much work to do in order to get me into “On Display” condition, but it’s in this work He specializes.

His Word settles deep, “Be not conformed.” The word “conform” means to fashion alike or according to. All too often,  my sin nature shows through. So I surrender again asking Him to mold me into a vessel fit for His exhibit. He is a most Gentle Potter. Lovingly placing me upon His wheel that He might transform me, He is quick to respond to my cry for help. His hand of correction isn’t a bad thing, after all. The changes He is making are for my “profit, that I might be a partaker of His holiness…” (Heb. 12:10) Though “no chastening seemeth to be joyous, but grevious..” I know that “…afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness..”   Completing the finishing touches, He prepares a place for me, on display, knowing full well I will need His touch again very soon.

How I long to represent Him well.

  But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.

Isaiah 64:8

One Response to “On Display”

  1. Uncle Joe July 20, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    I don’t have to say I think or I believe, but I can honestly say I know we all would improve areas of our life if we kept the thought in mind that we truly are on display. At least I can say that for myself. There are too many times when I let that thought slip a little bit and find myself not acting quite the way I should. Thanks for this reminder to us to keep ourselves in showroom conditon at all times.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

