Home Again

10 Jul

After a week away, I am home again. It was a wonderful week with my family in the beautiful North Carolina mountains, but I didn’t have much time for consistent blogging.

There was much to find joy in and much time to evaluate just where I am in my progress with my building project.

I have found yet another thing that hinders from building, but thankfully yet another way to overcome the hinderance!

In addition to laziness and discouragement, I am finding that sin, of any kind, is the biggest hinderance of all.

But there’s a book in the New Testament, right between Acts and 1 Corinthians, where I found wonderful Truth that gave me what I needed to build today.

I was reminded that God takes sin seriously.

 “Let NOT sin therefore reign in your mortal body…” Romans 6:12

I was reminded that I have the promise of grace when it does overtake me.

  “Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound:” Romans 5:20

But that grace is not an opportunity to do whatsoever I please, but a reason to please the God who so graciously gives it.

 “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?” Romans 6:1-2

I was reminded that as a born-again believer, I don’t have to live in Sin’s bondage. I was reminded that I have been given what I need to die to It each and every day.

  “Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection: Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.” Romans 6:4-6

“For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace.” Romans 6:14 

I was reminded that even when I fail miserably, fall desperately short of His glory, make a mess of me, and take His precious grace forgranted, He is there, to lovingly call me “Home again.”

Home to the loving and forgiving embrace of my Lord who will help me build and keep me from plucking down.

It’s so good to be home again!

  “Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands.” Proverbs 14:1

Leave a Reply

