Building Despite Discouragement

30 Jun

In my last post in the Building Series, I looked at the effect slothfulness can have on our project. Today, I have found yet another enemy of progress, discouragement.

Discouragement ranks right up there with slothfulness on our list of things to look out for while we strive to build our lives spiritually.                                            

As I combat the desire (or lack thereof!) to do nothing and put all of my energy into working on my project, I find myself in the grip of discouragement.

I’m doing my best, rising when the alarm rings (the first time!), striving to study the Scripture faithfully, and daily exchanging the slothfulness engrained in me for a diligence that only comes from Him. And just when I felt like I as making progress, I look around, realizing that even though I have, I still have a long, long way to go before I’m where I long to be.

Discouraged and feeling a lot less diligent than I did before I saw how much work I had left to do, something within me whispers, “It’s no use. You’ll never be a builder. What you’ve already built doesn’t look so great and it only gets harder as you go.”

With tears welling up in my eyes, I know something must be done, sooner rather than later, if I want to keep building. Staying discouraged will ultimately result in plucking rather than building.

So dismissing the voices that try their best to get me to lay down the hammer for good, I go back to my Bible to continue building.

How do I find the ability to be diligent despite discouragement?

“The way of the Lord is strength to the upright…”

Proverbs 10:29

By continuing to live (and build) His way.

The word way meaning a road, course of life, mode of action encourages us to keep on keeping on with the basics for building for in those we find strength, His strength.

Through consistent prayer and time in His Word, we combat the enemy of discouragement.

But today I have focused in on another way to do so.

“Wherefore comfort yourselves together, and edify one another…”

1 Thess. 5:11

Here we are challenged to continue our fight against the enemies of building through fellowship with and encouragement from other believers.

This concept is certainly nothing new, but something I believe we don’t use to it’s full potential as we should.

Why build solo if we don’t have to? How often do you see one lone worker building on the construction site? Not often. It takes an entire crew to complete the project especially if it’s a large one. Building our lives spiritually is a BIG project, a life long project that will be a whole lot more enjoyable with the help and fellowship of other Christians.

I was so excited when I discovered the original meaning of the word “edify” used in this verse.

To edify literally means to be a house builder!!!!! (You can check Strong’s Concordance if you don’t believe me! 🙂 ) How’s that for fitting with our subject! Isn’t it amazing how our Lord works in the details? His Word never ceases to amaze me!

When I strive to be a blessing to my sisters and brothers in Christ, I am helping with the building of their houses, spiritually speaking.

I’m reminded of this passage in Ecclesiastes:

  “Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.”

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Two can accomplish double the amount of work that one can!

In the next post, we’ll look at ways we can edify each other as fellow builders which will in turn strengthen our hearts and bless the heart of the Master Builder, Himself, as He oversees this project!

2 Responses to “Building Despite Discouragement”

  1. Uncle Joe July 1, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    If people truly understood how much strength we get from each other, our churchs would be full all the time. We all really do need each other as we build our lives for Him. This post brings that fact to light in a great way. Thank you.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

  2. Ashley August 14, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    I love my christian family just like my real family. It’s amazing how much strength and knowledge I gain just by being around them and talking with them. I love the fellowship we share. It’s just a little glimpse of what Heaven is going to be like. I thank God for my church and my Christian family.

Leave a Reply

