How’s it Coming?

27 Jun

Your building, that is.

As I mentioned in my last post, I have found this building more difficult than I originally planned. I have found opposition along the way. I have found that my biggest hinderance when it comes to building spiritually is in fact, me. I am finding daily my constant and desperate need for Jesus, our Master Builder, to do the building because I am much better at plucking down than building up.

I read these verses in Proverbs the other day, but the busyness of summer (one of the biggest hinderance in building!) have kept me from posting!

“I went by the field of the slothful, and by the vineyard of the man void of understanding; And lo, it was all grown over with thorns, and nettles had covered the face thereof, and the stone wall thereof was broken down.”

ch.24 vs. 30-31

I wonder how often my heart looks like this field and vineyard? I know the answer breaks the heart of my Lord. I’m afraid that slothfulness is a huge struggle for me.

And I think we can call slothfulness or laziness as it is most widely known, the silent sin.

It isn’t flashy, and it doesn’t often paint itself as fun and exciting, it’s simply the easy way out. It’s doing nothing. It’s wasting time. It creates an open door for the devil to sow the seeds that will ever so subtly grow those thorns and nettles. It is quiet. It is sudden death to the growth of good things in our hearts. It is the one of the things that prevents the building we’ve been seeking to do this Summer. It’s what causes me to push the snooze button over and over again thus missing out on my time with the Lord. It’s what calls me to put off that phone call or that visit until another day.

Proverbs 24 continues.

“Then I saw, and considered it well: I looked upon it, and received instruction.” vs. 32

The writer of Proverbs didn’t simply view the scene before him and turn away without a second thought. He tells us he “considered it well.” This wasn’t one quick glance.

I imagine that he might have climbed over the broken wall, trampled through the thorns and looked inside the crumbling structure that may have made its home on the property. It was evident that no one had been here recently or that anyone who had been wasn’t too concerned about the state of the grounds. Though he paused to ponder what lay before him for a while, it didn’t take him long to conclude that whoever lived here was certainly not a builder.

As he surveyed the mess before him, he “received instruction.” Though we are often slow learners, we are usually quickly convinced when we see something with our own eyes or experience it first hand. It’s like the hot stove and the curious child. Just hearing it’s hot doesn’t convince like touching it does. Just hearing that laziness can have detrimental effects didn’t have quite the same merit as seeing the destruction in person.

My goal in week 2 of this Summer Building project is to choose diligence over laziness. To receive instruction from the vivid picture painted for me in Scripture and to surrender the hammer to my Lord each morning so that much building can be accomplished.

After all,  “the desire accomplished is sweet to the soul..” Proverbs 13:19 

One Response to “How’s it Coming?”

  1. Aunt El June 28, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Wow! That was good!

Leave a Reply

