Don’t let the Season Stop You

23 Jun

from building.

As I find myself nearly a week into my Summer vacation, I have discovered that if I’m not careful the season can hinder my building project.

You see, another way to build is to

3. “look…well to my going.” Proverbs 14:15

The phrase “look…well” coming from the Hebrew word biyn meaning to separate mentally (or distinguish), i.e.(generally) understand:–attend, consider, be cunning, diligently, direct, discern.

“Look(ing) well” takes diligence and the laid back pace of Summer can quickly cancel out any desire for a diligent and discerning lifestyle.

With no set schedule and no alarm clock rousing me from sleep in the early hours of the morning, I have already found myself in a bit of a Summer Slump. Neglecting to maintain the diligence it takes to build my life spiritually, I have found all my talk about building  failing to “profit.” (Proverbs 14:23)

 A sure way to “pluck down”  what has already been built, I have been convicted today of my lack of “looking well!”

It is my heart’s desire to make sure my words are words that lead to action, to building.

If I desire to see progress, I can’t let the season stop me! In fact, I must determine to attend to the task at hand and to use the season as an asset instead.

Unlike the busyness of the school year, with papers to grade, students to tutor, and deadlines to meet, I have the blessing of a summer before me with a lot of time to pursue things of my own choosing. I have the choice and I can choose building or plucking. I must be discerning in what I do with the hours given to me each day.

I can choose to waste it own empty pursuits or I can seek to pursue my Savior! I’m not saying that you shouldn’t relax or do something you enjoy doing, but these things should be enjoyed and can only be enjoyed fully after first spending time with the Lord!

So don’t let the Season stop you from “looking well” to this building project and the promised blessing of Its completion!

Keep building, friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

